Skip to main content

House of Commons Business: Tuesday 4 December 2018

Commons Chamber

11:30am: Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Questions (Topicals at 12:15pm)

Main business

Ten Minute Rule Motion: Planning (Appeals) (John Howell, Con, Henley)

Debate on Section 13(1)(b) of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018 (Day 1)

Adjournment Debate: Health Technology assessment charges in England (Anne Marie Morris, Con, Newton Abbot)

Westminster Hall

9:30 am - 11:00am Effect of ATM closures on towns, high streets and rural communities (Ged Killen, Lab, Rutherglen and Hamilton West) (Nominated by the Backbench Business Committee)

11:00 am - 11:30am Cared-for children educated out of area (Gordon Henderson, Con, Sittingbourne and Sheppey)

2:30pm - 4:00pm Mental health and wellbeing in schools (Layla Moran, Lib Dem, Oxford West and Abingdon)

4:00 pm - 4:30pm Animal rescue centres (Jim Fitzpatrick, Lab, Poplar and Limehouse)

4:30 pm - 5:30pm Financial threat to the next generation (Richard Drax, Con, South Dorset)

Commons Committees

General Committees
Public Bill Committee
(9:25am and 2:00pm, Room 10)
Finance (No.3) Bill

Public Bill Committee (9:25 am and 2:00pm, Room 12)
Healthcare (International Arrangements) Bill

Public Bill Committee (9:25am and 2:00pm, The Boothyroyd Room)
Fisheries Bill

Public Bill Committee (9:25am and 2:00pm, Room 14)
Courts and Tribunals (Judiciary and Functions of Staff) Bill [Lords]

Second Delegated Legislation Committee (2:30pm, Room 11)
Draft Package Travel and Linked Travel Arrangements (Amendment) (EU Exit) Regulations 2018

Fourth Delegated Legislation Committee (2:30pm, Room 9)
Draft Central Securities Depositories (Amendment) (EU Exit) Regulations 2018 and the draft Trade Repositories (Amendment and Transitional Provision) (EU Exit) Regulations 2018

Fifth Delegated Legislation Committee (2:30pm, Room 16)
Motion in the name of Andrea Leadsom relating to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority

Select Committees
Treasury Committee (9:15am, Thatcher room)
The UK's economic relationship with the European Union
Witnesses: Dr Mark Carney, Governor, Bank of England, Ben Broadbent, Deputy Governor for Monetary Policy, Bank of England, Sir Jon Cunliffe, Deputy Governor for Financial Stability, Bank of England
Sam Woods, Deputy Governor for Prudential Regulation, Bank of England and Chief Executive Officer, Prudential Regulation Authority, Sir Tom Scholar, Permanent Secretary, HM Treasury, Clare Lombardelli, Director General, Chief Economic Adviser, HM Treasury, Sam Beckett, Director General, EU Exit and Analysis at the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and Susannah Storey, Acting Director General at the Department for Exiting the European Union

Science and Technology (9:30am, The Grimond Room)
Digital government
Witnesses: Sam Smith, Coordinator, medConfidential, Professor Vishanth Weerakkody, Professor of Information Systems Management and Governance, University of Bradford, Robert McClaren, Head of Industry, Technology and Innovation, Policy Connect, Professor Helen Kennedy, Professor of Digital Society, University of Sheffield, Fiona Ludd-Widger, Research Associate for Routine Data, Centre for Trials Research, Tom Smith, Managing Director of Data Science, Office for National Statistics, and Joel Bellman, Partner, Deloitte and Peter Fleming, Chairman of the LGA Improvement and Innovation Board, Local Government Association

International Development Committee (10:00am, Room 5)
UK aid for combating climate change
Witnesses: Anshul Patel, Chief Commercial Officer, BBOXX Ltd, Professor Sam Fankhauser, Director of the Grantham Institute for Climate Change and Environment, Dr Ruth Fuller, International Development Policy Advisor, WWF-UK, Tanjir Hossain, Lead on Resilience and Climate Justice, Action Aid Bangladesh and Alison Doig, Head of Global Policy, Christian Aid

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee (10:00am, room 8)
Leaving the EU: implications for UK business
Witnesses: Tony Walker, Deputy Managing Director, Toyota Motor Europe, Sydney Nash, Senior Policy Manager, SMMT and Dermot Sterne, Chief Executive, Applied Component Technologies

Education Committee (10:00am, Room 15)
Special educational needs and disabilities
Witnesses: George Holroyd, Kathleen Redcliffe, Carl Rogers, Parents, Mrunal Sisodia, Co-Chair, National Network of Parent Carer Forums, Penny Hoffman-Becking, Trustee and steering group member of SEND Family Voice and Beth Foster, Education Lead, Hampshire Parent Carer Network

Justice Committee (10:00am, The Wilson Room)
Director of Public Prosecutions, Crown Prosecution Service
Witnesses: Max Hill QC, Director of Public Prosecutions, Crown Prosecution Service

Environmental Audit Committee (10:15am, Room 6)
Chemicals regulations follow-up
Witnesses: Dr Michael Warhurst, Executive Director, CHEMTrust, Nigel Haigh OBE, Honorary Fellow, Institute for European Environmental Policy, Elizabeth Shepherd, Partner, Eversheds Sutherland, Nishma Patel, Chemicals Policy Director, Chemical Industries Association, Peter Newport, CEO, Chemical Business Association, Susanne Baker, Head of Programme, Environment and Compliance, TechUK, and Ellen Daniels, Head of Public Affairs and Policy, British Coatings Federation

Scottish Affairs Committee (2:00pm, Grimond room)
Scotland and Brexit: Trade and Foreign Investment
Witnesses: George Hollingbery MP, Minister of State for Trade Policy, Department for International Trade and David Mundell MP, Secretary of State for Scotland 

Backbench Business Committee (2:30pm, Room 6)
Proposals for backbench debates
Witnesses: Members of Parliament

Defence Committee (3:00pm, Room 8)
Work of the Chief of Staff Defence
Witnesses: General Sir Nick Carter, Chief of the Defence Staff