Skip to main content

House of Commons Business: Wednesday 7 February 2018

Commons Chamber

11:30am: Northern Ireland Questions

12:00noon: Prime Minister’s Questions

Main business

Ten Minute Rule Motion: That leave be given to bring in a Bill to make provision about end of life care and support for homeless people with terminal illnesses, including through the provision of housing for such people; and for connected purposes (Sir Edward Davey, Lib Dem, Kingston and Surbiton)

Motions related to the Police Grants and Local Government Finance report

Adjournment debate on Future funding of Woodlands Hospice in Aintree (Dan Carden, Lab, Liverpool, Walton)

Westminster Hall Debates

9:30am: European Free Trade Association (Stephen Hammon, Lab, Wimbledon)

11:00am: Introduction of an Agriculture GCSE (Julian Sturdy, Con, York Outer)

2:30pm: Military detention of Palestinian children by Israeli authorities (Sarah Champion, Lab, Rotherham)

4:00pm: Regulation of the cost of credit cards (Stella Creasy, Lab, Walthamstow)

4:30pm: Upgrade of the A5 between junction 18 of the M1 and junction 10 of the M42 (David Tredinnick, Con, Bosworth

Commons Committees

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee (9:00am, room 6)
Subject: Clean Growth Strategy
Witnesses: The Rt Hon the Lord Deben, Chairman, Committee on Climate Change and Adrian Gault, Chief Executive, Committee on Climate Change

Exiting the European Union Committee (9:15am, Boothroyd Room)
The progress of the UK’s negotiations on EU withdrawal
Witnesses: Professor George Yarrow, Chair of the Regulatory Policy Institute, Emeritus Fellow, Hertford College, Oxford, and visiting professor, Newcastle University Business School; Ulf Sverdrup, Director, Norwegian Institute of International Affairs; Professor Alla Podznakova, Law Faculty, University of Oslo and Professor Carl Baudenbacher, Judge of the EFTA Court

Education Committee and Health Committee (9:30am, room 16)
Transforming children and young people’s mental health provision
Witnesses: Claire Murdoch, National Mental Health Director, NHS England, Professor Tim Kendall, National Clinical Director for Mental Health, NHS England, and Professor Lisa Bayliss-Pratt, Chief Nurse and Interim Regional Director for London and the South East, Health Education England; Rt Hon Nick Gibb MP, Minister for School Standards, Department for Education, Jackie Doyle-Price MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Mental Health and Inequalities, Jonathan Marron, Director General of Community Care, Department of Health and Social Care and Ann Gross, Director of Special Needs, Children in Care and Adoption, Department for Education

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee (9:30am, Grimond Room) 
Devolution and democracy in Northern Ireland – dealing with the deficit
Witnesses: Christopher McCrudden, Professor of Human Rights and Equality Law, Queen's University Belfast; Jonathan Tonge, Professor of Politics, University of Liverpool; Richard Wilford, Professor of Politics, Queen's University Belfast and Richard Wilford, Professor of Politics, Queen's University Belfast

Work and Pensions Committee (9:30am, Wilson Room) 
Support for carers
Witnesses: Nikki Kimber, Carer, Olga Budimir, Carer, Liz Abrahams, Carer, Katie O’Shaughnessy, Carer, Bethan Pound, Carer; Sally Wilson, Senior Research Fellow, Institute for Employment Studies; Sarah Newton MP, Minister of State for Disabled People, Health and Work; Andrew Latto, Deputy Director, Devolution and Welfare in later life and Duncan Gilchrist, Deputy Director Fuller Woking Lives and State Pension Policy

International Development Sub-Committee on the Work of the Independent Commission for Aid Impact (9:50am, room 15)
ICAI's review on Inclusive growth
Witnesses: Tina Fahm, Lead Commissioner; Marcus Cox, Team Leader, Independent Commission for Aid Impact
Rachel Turner, Director of Economic Development, Melinda Bohannon, Head of Growth and Resilience Department, Department for International Development

Women and Equalities (9:50am, room 8)
Race Disparity Audit
Witnesses: Melanie Field, Executive Director, Corporate Strategy and Policy Wales, Equality and Human Rights Commission; Emma Rourke, Director of Public Policy Analysis, Office for National Statistics; Iain Bell, Deputy National Statistician, Office for National Statistics; Rt Hon David Lidington CBE MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office; Marcus Bell, Director, Race Disparity Audit, Cabinet Office

Justice Committee (10:00am, Thatcher Room)
The transparency of Parole Board decisions and involvement of victims in the process
Witnesses: Professor Nick Hardwick, Chair, Parole Board for England and Wales; Martin Jones, Chief Executive Officer, Parole Board for England and Wales; Baroness Newlove, Victims' Commissioner for England and Wales; Sonia Crozier, Executive Director, National Probation Service in England; Justin Russell, Director General, Prisons, Offender and Youth Justice Policy, Ministry of Justice and Dame Glenys Stacey, Chief Inspector, HMI Probation

Treasury Committee (2:15pm, Wilson room)
The work of the Financial Conduct Authority
Witnesses: Andrew Bailey, Chief Executive and John Griffith-Jones, Chairman, Financial Conduct Authority

Foreign Affairs Committee (2:45pm, room 8) 
The UK’s influence in the UN
Witnesses: Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon, Minister of State for the Commonwealth and the UN; Paul Williams, Director, Multilateral Policy and Sir Iain Macleod KCMG, Legal Adviser, Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Liaison Committee (4:30pm, Grimond Room)
Cross-government response to the collapse of Carillion
Witnesses: Sir Amyas Morse KCB, Comptroller and Auditor General, National Audit Office; The Rt Hon David Lidington CBE MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster; John Manzoni, Chief Executive of the Civil Service and Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office and Gareth Rhys Williams, Government Chief Commerical Officer

Transport Committee (4:45pm, Thatcher Room) 
Airports National Policy Statement
Witnesses: Rt Hon Chris Grayling MP, Secretary of State for Transport, Department for Transport; Lucy Chadwick, Director General of International Security & Environment, Department for Transport and Caroline Low, Director of Airport Expansion and Aviation and Maritime Analysis, Department for Transport

General Committees

Fifth Delegated Legislation Committee (8.55am, room 9)
Draft Social Security (Contributions) (Rates, Limits and Thresholds Amendments and National Insurance Funds Payments) Regulations 2018 and the draft Tax Credits and Guardian’s Allowance Up-rating etc. Regulations 2018

Eighth Delegated Legislation Committee (8.55am, room 11)
Draft Representation of the People (Northern Ireland) (Amendment) Regulations 2018

Welsh Grand Committee (9.30am, 2:30pm)
Autumn Budget as it relates to Wales

Sixth Delegated Legislation Committee (2.30pm, room 9)
Draft Soft Drinks Industry Levy (Enforcement) Regulations 2018

Ninth Delegated Legislation Committee (2.30pm, room 11)
Draft Representation of the People (Scotland) (Amendment) Regulations 2018

Tenth Delegated Legislation Committee (4.00pm, room 12)
Draft Representation of the People (England and Wales) (Amendment) Regulations 2018


Editor's Choice