Skip to main content

House of Commons Business: Wednesday 7 March 2018

Commons Chamber

11:30am: Scotland questions
12noon: Prime Minister’s Questions

Main business

Ten Minute Rule Motion: Local health scrutiny (Gareth Snell, Lab, Stoke-on-Trent Central)  

Opposition day debate: European Union citizenship, Plaid Cymru

Opposition day debate: Armed Forces Covenant in Northern Ireland, Democratic Unionist Party

Adjournment debate on the future of jobs of HMRC staff at the Waterfront offices in Dudley (Ian Austin, Lab, Dudley North)

Westminster Hall

9:30am-11:00am: That this House has considered misogyny as a hate crime (Melanie Onn, Lab, Great Grimsby)

11:00am-11:30am: That this House has considered support for fairly traded goods (Geraint Davies, Lab, Swansea West)

2:30pm-4:00pm: That this House has considered local museums (Stephen Kerr, Scot Con, Stirling)

4:00pm-4:30pm: That this House has considered the risks of the use of Accutane (Bob Stewart, Con, Beckenham)

4:30pm-5:30pm: That this House has considered the regulation of tipping practices in the hospitality sector (Darren Jones, Lab, Bristol North West)

Commons Committees

Public Bill Committees

Public Bill Committee (9:30am, room 9)
Mental Health Units (Use of Force) Bill

Delegated Legislation Committees

Third Delegated Legislation Committee (2:00pm, room 9)
The draft Enhanced Partnership Plans and Schemes (Objections) Regulations 2018

Second Delegated Legislation Committee (2:30pm, room 11)
The draft Financial Services and Markets Act 2000 (Carrying on Regulated Activities by Way of Business) (Amendment) Order 2018

Select Committees

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee and the Work and Pensions Committee (9:15am, Thatcher Room)
Witnesses: Murdo Murchison, Chairman, Kiltearn Partners, Euan Stirling, Global Head of Stewardship and ESG Investing, Aberdeen Standard Investments, and Amra Balic, Managing Director, Blackrock; Andrew Wollaston, Partner, Global Restructuring Leader & Global TAS Private Equity, Ernst & Young UK, Alan Bloom, Partner, Senior Restructuring, former UK Restructuring Leader and Global Restructuring Leader, Ernst & Young UK, and Lee Watson, Partner, Restructuring, Ernst & Young UK (at 10.15am)

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee (9:30am, room 15)
Devolution and democracy in Northern Ireland – dealing with the deficit
Witnesses: Simon Hamilton MLA

Science and Technology Committee (9:30am, room 16)
Flu vaccination programme
Witnesses: Dr Paul Cosford, Director for Health Protection and Medical Director, Public Health England, Professor Steve Powis, National Medical Director, NHS England, Professor Jonathan Van-Tam, Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Professor Andrew Pollard, Chair, Joint Committee on Vaccination and Immunisation, and Dr Sue Crossland, President Elect, Society for Acute Medicine.

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (9:30am, Grimond Room)
Fur trade in the UK
Witnesses: Claire Bass, Executive Director, Humane Society International UK, Alex Bushill, News Correspondent, BBC London News, and Sarah Hajibagheri, Reporter, Sky News; Neil Hackett, Interim Supply Chain Director, Missguided, Paul Horsfield, Merchandising Director, BooHoo, and Dorothy Maxwell, Head of Sustainability, House of Fraser (at 10.30am)

Education Committee (10:00am, room 18)
Accountability hearings
Witnesses: Amanda Spielman, Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector, Ofsted and Eleanor Schooling CBE, National Director for Social Care, Ofsted

International Trade Committee (10:00am, room 6)
UK-US trade relations and UK Trade Remedies Authority
Witnesses: The Rt Hon Greg Hands, Minister of State for Trade Policy

Justice Committee (10:00am, Wilson Room)
The work of the Ministry of Justice
Witnesses: Rt Hon David Gauke MP, Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Procedure Committee (2:10pm, room 15)
Voting by proxy in the House of Commons
Witnesses: Rt Hon Harriet Harman QC MP and Rt Hon Maria Miller MP.

Treasury Committee (2:15pm, Wilson Room)
The UK's economic relationship with the European Union
Witnesses: Leigh Pomlett, Executive Director, CEVA Logistics and Chair, Freight Transport Association, Shanker Singham, Chair, Legatum Institute Special Trade Commission, Peter MacSwiney, Chairman, ASM (UK) Ltd and Chair, JCCC Brexit Sub-Group, and Paul Mac Flynn, Senior Economist, Nevin Economic Research Institute

Public Accounts Committee (2:30pm, Boothroyd Room)
i. Implementing EU Exit: DEFRA ii. Implementing EU Exit: DIT
Witnesses: (i) Clare Moriarty, Permanent Secretary, David Kennedy, Director General, Food Farming and Biosecurity, and Sonia Phippard, Director General, Environment, Rural and Marine,DEFRA; (ii) Antonia Romeo, Permanent Secretary, and Crawford Falconer, Second Permanent Secretary, Department for International Trade (at 3.45pm).

Joint Committees

Joint Committee on Human Rights (3:15pm, Room 1)
Human Rights: attitudes to enforcement
Witnesses: Deborah Coles, Director, INQUEST , Katie Gollop QC, Barrister, Serjeants’ Inn Chambers  and Merry Varney, Partner, Leigh Day