Skip to main content

House of Commons Business: Tuesday 10 July 2018

Commons Chamber

11:30am: Justice Questions (Topicals at 12:15pm)

Main Business

Ten Minute Rule Motion: Bathing Waters (Scott Mann, Con, North Cornwall)

Non-Domestic Rating (Nursing Grounds) Bill: Committee and remaining stages

Opposition day debate (Unallotted half day) (Liberal Democrats): The Government's handling of negotiations to leave the EU

Debate on a motion relating to the appointment of external members to the House of Commons Commission

Standing Orders relating to the European Statutory Instruments Committee: Motion to approve

Adjournment debate on the accountability of NHS Trusts (Sir Mike Penning, Con, Hemel Hempstead)

Commons Committees

Public Bill Committees

Counter-Terrorism and Border Security Bill Committee (9:25am and 2:00pm, room 12)
Further consideration to the Bill

Voyeurism (Offences) (No.2) Bill Committee (9:25am and 2:00pm, The Boothroyd Room)
Further consideration to the Bill

Delegated Legislation Committees

Third Delegated Legislation Committee (8:55am, room 9)
To consider the draft Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Combined Authority (Business Rate Supplements Functions) Order 2018

Eighth Delegated Legislation Committee (2:30pm, room 9)
To consider the draft Occupational Pension Schemes (Master Trusts) Regulations 2018

Select Committees 

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee (9:15am, room 8)
Draft National Policy Statement for Geological Disposal Infrastructure
Witnesses: Philip Matthews, Executive Director, Nuclear Legacy Advisory Forum, Ruth Bradshaw, Policy and Research Manager, Campaign for National Parks, and Dr Pauleen Land, Group Manager National Infrastructure, Planning Inspectorate; Bruce McKirdy, Managing Director, Radioactive Waste Management, Stephen Tromans QC, Members, Committee on Radioactive Management, and Andrew Blowers, Co-Chair, NGO Forum and Chair, Blackwater Against New Nuclear Group (at 10.00am); Richard Harrington MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Minister for Business and Industry, Stephen Speed, Director, Nuclear and Imran Nazir, Deputy Director, Decommissioning, Radioactive Materials and Geological Disposal Programme, Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy (at 10.45am).

Science and Technology Committee (9:30am, room 16)
Energy drinks
Witnesses: Monster Energy Company, Andrew Taylor, Regulatory Policy Executive, Committees of Advertising Practice, Dr John Thompson, The Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment (COT), Dr Kevin Hagin, Head of Food Hygiene and Animal Health Policy Unit, Food Standards Agency, Steve Brine MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Public Health and Primary Care, Department of Health and Social Care and Jenny Oldroyd, Deputy Director, Obesity, Food and Nutrition, Department of Health and Social Care

High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill Committee (9:35am and 2:05pm, room 5)
High Speed Rail (West Midlands-Crewe) Bill
Witnesses: Petitioners

Treasury Committee (10:00am, room The Grimond Room)
Appointment of Andy King as Chair of the Budget Responsibility Committee, OBR
Witnesses: Andy King, Appointed Chair of the Budget Responsibility Committee

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee (10:00am, Hope Street Xchange, Sunderland University)
The social impact of participation in culture and sport
Witnesses: Rebecca Ball, Director, Sunderland City of Culture 2021 and Dr Beatriz Garcia, Head of Research, Institute of Cultural Capital, LiverpooL

Education Committee (10:00am, room 15)
Life Chances
Witnesses: Bob Reitemeier, Chief Executive, I CAN, Dr Kitty Stewart, Associate Professor of Social Policy, London School of Economics and Political Science, Dr Shirley Woods-Gallagher, Strategic Lead, Reform and Innovation, Manchester City Council, Nadhim Zahawi MP, Parliamentary-Under Secretary of State for Children and Families, Department for Education and Michelle Dyson, Director of Early Years and Childcare, Department for Education

Environmental Audit Committee (10:15am, The Thatcher Room)
Hand car washes
Witnesses: Dawn Frazer, Managing Director, Car Wash Advisory Services Ltd, Darryl Dixon, Director of Strategy, Gangmasters and Labour Abuse Authority, Tim Harrison, Deputy Director of Labour Market Enforcement, Helen Wakeham, Deputy Director of water quality, groundwater and land contamination, Environment Agency, Philip White, Head of Operational Strategy, Health and Safety Executive, Victoria Atkins MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Crime, Safeguarding and Vulnerability, Home Office and Thérèse Coffey MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Home Affairs Committee (10:30am, The Wilson Room)
The work of the Home Secretary
Witnesses: Rt Hon Sajid Javid MP, Home Secretary and Sir Philip Rutnam, Permanent Secretary, Home Office

Scottish Affairs Committee (12:00pm, room 6)
City Region Deals
Witnesses: Councillor Susan Aitken, Leader of Council and City Convener for Inclusive Economic Growth, Glasgow City Council, and Councillor Gail Macgregor, Group Business Manager/Secretary, Dumfries & Galloway Council; Paul Wheelhouse, MSP, Minister for Energy, Connectivity and the Islands, Dr Morag Watt, Cities Team Leader, Scottish Government, and Oonagh Gil, Deputy Director for Enterprise and Cities, Scottish Government (at 1.00pm); David Mundell, MP, Secretary of State for Scotland, Lord Duncan of Springbank, Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Scotland and Northern Ireland, and Gillian McGregor, CBE, Director, Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland (at 2.00pm)

Health and Social Care Committee and Justice Committee (2:30pm, The Wilson Room)
Prison Health
Witnesses: Frances Cook OBE, Chief Executive, Howard League for Penal Reform, Dr Jake Hard, Chair, Royal College of General Practitioners Secure Environments Group, and Ryan Harman, Advice & Information Service Manager, Prison Reform Trust; Jackie Doyle-Price MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Mental Health and Inequalities, Department of Health and Social Care, Kate Davies OBE, Director of Health & Justice, Armed Forces and Sexual Assault Services Commissioning, NHS England, Dr Éamonn O’Moore, National Lead for Health and Justice, Public Health England, Edward Argar MP, Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Ministry of Justice, and Digby Griffith, Director of Commissioning and Executive Director of Rehabilitation and Assurance, Her Majesty’s Prison and Probation Service

Backbench Business Committee (2:30pm, room 16)
Proposals for backbench debates
Witnesses: Members of Parliament

Westminster Hall

9:30 am - 11:00 am:  Air passenger duty across the UK (Gavin Robinson, DUP, Belfast East)

11:00 am - 11:30 am: Progress on 2015 steel summit commitments (Anna Turley, Lab, Redcar)

2:30 pm - 4:00 pm:  Customs arrangements after the UK leaves the EU (Stephen Hammond, Con, Wimbledon)

4:00 pm - 4:30 pm: Open access rail services (Martin Vickers, Con, Cleethorpes)

4:30 pm - 5:30 pm: Protecting defined-benefit pension schemes (Laura Smith, Lab, Crewe and Nantwich)


Editor's Choice