Skip to main content

House of Lords Business: Tuesday 11 June 2019

Lords Chamber

2:30pm: Oral Questions

- Baroness Bryan of Partick (Lab) to ask Her Majesty's Government what steps they are taking to ensure that banks provide free withdrawals from current accounts at cash machines.

- Lord Wigley (Plaid Cymru) to ask Her Majesty's Government what are the latest figures for the gross domestic product per capita for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland; and what is the percentage increase for each such figure since 1999.

- Lord Robathan (Con) to ask Her Majesty's Government whether the Foreign Secretary’s speech at the Lord Mayor’s Banquet on 13 May represented a change in their policy on defence expenditure.

- Lord Kennedy of Southwark (Lab) to ask Her Majesty's Government on preventing homophobic and misogynistic attacks

Main Business

Non-Domestic Rating (Preparation for Digital Services) Bill: Second reading and remaining stages

Kew Gardens (Leases) (No. 3) Bill (HL): Third reading

Short Debate: Protecting children from harmful vehicle emissions (Baroness Randerson, Lib Dem)

Short Debate: Operation of the theatre market and ensuring that theatre is accessible (The Earl of Glasgow, Lib Dem)

Lords Committees 

Science and Technology Committee (10:15am, Room 4A)
Science research funding in universities
Witnesses: Professor David Lomas FMedSci, Academy of Medical Sciences, Professor Mark Smith, Vice-Chancellor, Lancaster University, Dr Tim Bradshaw, Chief Executive, Russell Group, The Rt Hon Lord Willetts and Professor Peter Bruce, Physical Secretary and Vice President, Royal Society

EU Justice Sub-Committee (10:30am, Room 3)
Rights after Brexit
Witnesses: Mr Edward Argar MP, Parlimentary Under-Secretary of State for Justice, Ministry of Justice and Alice Adamson, Deputy Director Global Strategy and Rights, Ministry of Justice

Communications Committee (3:15pm, Room 2)
Public Service broadcasting in the age of video on demand
Witnesses: Sir Lenny Henry CBE, Actor and Producer, Simon Albury MBE, Chair, Campaign for Broadcasting Equality CIO, Marcus Ryder (at 4:30 pm) , Caroline Cooper Charles and Seetha Kumar


Editor's Choice