New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
11th February 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Government Departments:

Home Office

Dame Carol Black named as independent reviewer of drugs.

Department of Health and Social Care

Dame Sally Davies to stand down as Chief Medical Officer at the end of September.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Lord Henley named as Ministerial Champion for Salisbury.

Cabinet Office

Paula Vennells, Karen Blackett and Anand Aithal appointed as the Non-executive Board Members.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Natural England – Tony Juniper announced as the preferred candidate for Chair.

Ministry of Justice

HM Prison and Probation Service - Jo Farrar appointed as Chief Executive from 1st April, replacing Michael Spurr.

Office of the Public Guardian – Alan Eccles to retire as Chief Executive and Public Guardian for England and Wales in June.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Food Standards Agency – Heather Hancock reappointed as Chair.

Competition and Markets Authority - Cynthia Dubin appointed as a Non-executive Director and Robin Foster, Colleen Keck, Karthik Subramanya, Shrinivas Honap and Maria da Cunha as panel members.

National Savings and Investments - Jill Lucas appointed as a Non-Executive Director.



Liberal Democrats

Tim Farron named as Spokesperson for Communities and Local Government (formerly for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs).

Wera Hobhouse named as Spokesperson for Energy and Climate Change (formerly for Communities and Local Government).

Christine Jardine named as Spokesperson for Work and Pensions (formerly for Scotland).

Jamie Stone named as Spokesperson for Scotland (formerly for Armed Forces).

Alistair Carmichael named as Spokesperson for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs.

Lord Fox named as Spokesperson for Environment and Climate Change.

Baroness Burt of Solihull named as Spokesperson for Small Business.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Committee on the Scottish Government Handling of Harassment Complaints – Alasdair Allan, Jackie Baillie, Donald Cameron, Alex Cole-Hamilton, Angela Constance, Linda Fabiani, Alison Johnstone, Margaret Mitchell and Maureen Watt appointed as members of the new committee.

Local Authorities:

Lancaster City Council – Kieran Keane to become interim Chief Executive on 25th March.

By-election Results 7th February

Tower Hamlets Council – Rajib Ahmed elected for Lansbury – Labour hold. (Muhammad Harun resigned).

Tower Hamlets Council – Harun Miah elected for Shadwell – 'Aspire' gain from Labour. (Rhul Amin resigned).

Lambeth Council – Stephen Donnelly elected for Thornton – Labour hold. (Jane Edbrooke resigned).

Wokingham Council – Sarah Kerr elected for Evendons – Liberal Democrat hold. (Helen Power resigned).

Buckinghamshire Council – Israr Rashid elected for Totteridge and Bowerdean – Labour gain from East Wycombe Independents. (Chaudhary Ditta died).

Bradford Council – Rachel Sunderland elected for Bolton and Undercliffe – Liberal Democrat gain from Labour. (Ian Greenwood died).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

Church Mission Society – Alastair Bateman appointed as Chief Executive.

National Council for Voluntary Organisations – Stuart Etherington to step down as Chief Executive later this year.


Hill+Knowlton Strategies – Scott Dodsworth to join as Director of Parliamentary Relations.

Trade Associations

Public Relations Consultants Association - Barry Leggetter appointed as the first International President.


General Optical Council – Vicky McDermott stood down as Chief Executive.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.