New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
13th May 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Ministerial Changes

Baroness Fairhead stood down as Minister of State for Trade and Export Promotion.

Baroness Manzoor stood down as Whip.

Robert Buckland appointed as Minister of State at the Ministry of Justice (previously Solicitor General).

Lucy Frazer appointed as Solicitor General (previously Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice).

Paul Maynard appointed as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Ministry of Justice (previously Government Whip).

Andrew Murrison appointed as Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Steel of Aikwood has rejoined the Liberal Democrats.

House of Commons

International Trade Committee - Chris Leslie discharged and Gareth Thomas added as a member.

Home Affairs Committee - Alex Norris and John Woodcock discharged and Janet Daby and Toby Perkins added as members.

Justice Committee - Janet Daby discharged and Andy Slaughter added as a member.

Women and Equalities Committee - Gavin Shuker discharged and Stephanie Peacock added as a member.

Selection Committee - Andrew Stephenson discharged and Jeremy Quin added as a member.

Environmental Audit Committee - Alex Cunningham discharged and Ruth Jones added as a member.


Government Departments:

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport                                                   

National Heritage Fund – Baroness Andrews reappointed as Wales Committee Chair.

National Lottery Committee Fund - Peter Ainsworth reappointed as Chair and Nat Slone as England Committee Chair.

V&A - Nick Hoffman reappointed as Trustee.

Department for Health and Social Care

National Independent Safeguarding Board – Jane Randall named as Chair; Jo Aubrey, Tessa Hodgson, Karen Minton, Jan Pickles and Tony Young named as members.

Home Office

John Tuckett has been appointed as the new Immigration Services Commissioner, starting in the summer.



UK Independence Party - Gerard Batten to stand down as Leader in June.



Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Government

Police Ombudsman for Northern Ireland - Marie Anderson to be recommended as the next Ombudsman.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at


WA Communications - Lee Findell appointed as Head of Corporate, and Sarah Gullo as Associate Director.

Interest Groups

Mencap – Jan Tregelles to stand down as Chief Executive in autumn.

Plan International UK – Rose Caldwell appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Tanya Barron in September.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.