New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
10th September 2017

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

PA Images

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Delegated Powers and Regulatory Reform Committee – Lord Blencathra replaced Baroness Fookes as Chair.

Government departments:

Department for International Trade

Lord Price stood down as Minister of State for Trade Policy, a new Lords Minister will be appointed in due course, Greg Hands has taken on the trade policy portfolio.

Ministry of Defence

Armed Forces’ Pay Review Body - Brendan Connor, Ken Mayhew and Jon Westbrook reappointed as members.

Ministry of Justice

Criminal Cases Review Commission – Rachel Ellis, Jill Gramann, Linda Lee, Jennifer Portway and Robert Ward appointed as Commissioners.

Youth Justice Board – Brian Tytherleigh appointed as a member.

Judicial Appointments Commission – Jane Furniss, Andrew Kennon and Simon Wessley appointed as lay Commissioners, Emir Feisal as a non-legally-qualified Commissioner and Mathangi Asokan ad Fiona Monk as judicial Commissioners.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Council for Science and Technology - David Cannadine, Suranga Chandratillake, Ottoline Leyser, Max Lu and Joyce Tait appointed as members.

Department for Education

Mark Riddell appointed as the National Implementation Adviser for Care Leavers.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee – John Scott elected as Deputy Convener.

Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee – Graham Simpson elected as Convener.

Scottish Government

Poverty and Inequality Commission – Douglas Hamilton named David Eiser, Hugh Foy, Caroline Kennedy, Katie Schmuecker and Sally Witcher as Commissioners.

Local Authorities:

By-election results 7th September

Babergh Council – Luke Cresswell elected for Sudbury South – Labour gain from Conservative.

Cannock Chase Council – Linda Tait elected for Hednesford Green Heath – Labour gain from Conservative.

Cannock Chase Council – Stuart Crabtree elected for Hednesford South – Green gain from Conservative.

Colchester Council – Vic Flores elected for Shrub End – Conservative gain from Liberal Democrat.

Croydon Council – Patsy Cummings elected for South Norwood – Labour hold.

East Cambridgeshire Council – Christine Whelan elected for Ely South – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.

Glasgow City Council – Jim Kavanagh elected for Cardonald – Labour hold.

Lewes Council – Johnny Denis elected for Ouse Valley and Ringmer – Green gain from Conservative.

Lancaster Council – Hilda Parr elected for Skerton West – Labour hold.

Herefordshire Council – Peter Jinman elected for Golden Valley – Independent gain from Conservative.

North Lanarkshire Council – Clare Quigley elected for Fortissat – Labour gain from Conservative.

Peterborough Council – Nigel Simons elected for Eye, Thorney and Newborough – Conservative hold.

Staffordshire Council – Bryan Jones elected for Hednesford and Rawnsley – Conservative hold.

Suffolk Council – Sarah Adams elected for St Johns – Labour hold.


Trade Associations

EEF – Stephen Phipson to replace Terry Scuoler as Chief Executive at the end of the year.


Bell Pottinger – James Henderson left his role as Chief Executive.


APTI – Andrew Waller took over from Graham Ramsey as Chief Executive, with Ramsay remaining as Chair.

Interest Groups

Community Integrated Care - Mark Adams became Chief Executive.

Bloodwise – Rohan Putter appointed Director of Fundraising and Marketing.

Amber Foundation – Stephen Ballantyne appointed Head of Fundraising and Communications.

MapAction – Ian Davis promoted to become Director of Fundraising and Marketing.

Trade Unions

Royal College of Midwives – Gill Walton started as Chief Executive, replacing Cathy Warwick.