New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
23rd January 2018

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Barry McElduff (Independent, elected as Sinn Féin) resigned as for West Tyrone on 16th January.

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee – Sarah Champion appointed as a member.

Government Departments:

Department for Work and Pensions

Peter Schofield has been appointed as the new Permanent Secretary, replacing Robert Devereux at the end of the month.

Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs

Natural England - Bat Expert Panel established with Tim Hill as Chair.

Adaptation Sub-Committee of the Committee on Climate Change - Georgina Mace and Michael Davies appointed as members.

Environment Agency - Judith Batchelar, Robert Gould, John Lelliott and Caroline Mason appointed to the board, and Lynne Frostick and Gill Weeks reappointed.

HM Treasury

National Infrastructure Commission – John Armitt appointed as Chair.

Cabinet Office

Advisory Committee on Business Appointments - Jonathan Baume, Susan Liautaud and Richard Thomas appointed as members from 1st February.

Ministry of Defence

Ploughshare Innovations – Penny Endersby and Cerys Rees appointed as members of the board, replacing Jenni Henderson and Wendy Hall.

Department of Health and Social Care

Care Quality Commission – Kirsty Shaw appointed as Chief Operating Officer, and David Behan is to stand down as Chief Executive in the summer.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Tina Redshaw has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Kingdom of Cambodia.

Chris Sainty has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Portuguese Republic.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

UK Research and Innovation – John Kingman to become Chair in April, having been in the role on an interim basis.

Department for Culture, Media and Sport

UK Sport – Nicola Roche reappointed as a board member.


Labour Party Reshuffle Appointments:

Shadow Minister for Pensions - Jack Dromey (formerly Shadow Minister for Labour).

Shadow Minister for Labour - Laura Pidcock.

Shadow Minister for Planning - Roberta Blackman-Woods (formerly Shadow Minister for International Development).

Shadow Minister for Social Care and Mental Health - Paula Sherriff (formerly Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities).

Shadow Minister for Local Transport - Matt Rodda.

Shadow Minister for the Treasury - Clive Lewis.

Shadow Minister for the Treasury - Lyn Brown.

Shadow Minister for Fire - Karen Lee (formerly PPS to the Shadow Chancellor).

Shadow Minister for International Trade - Judith Cummins (formerly Opposition Whip).

Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office - Chris Matheson (formerly PPS to the Shadow Secretary of State for Housing).

Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office - Laura Smith (formerly PPS to Shadow Minister for the Cabinet Office).

Shadow Minister for International Development - Dan Carden (formerly PPS to Shadow Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy).

Shadow Minister for International Development - Preet Gill.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Justice Sub-committee on Policing - Daniel Johnson replaced Mary Fee as a member.

Local Authorities:

Eden District Council – Robin Hooper to stand down as Chief Executive on 31st May.

Slough Borough Council – Adam Wilkinson to become Interim Chief Executive on 19th February.

By-election Results 18th January

Bolton Council – Toby Hewitt elected for Hulton – Conservative gain from Labour.

Milton Keynes Council - Bill Green elected for Newport Pagnell North and Hanslope – Conservative hold.

Rochford Council – Craig Cannell elected for Downhall and Rawreth – Liberal Democrat hold.

Bournemouth Council – Kieron Wilson elected for Throop and Muscliff – Independent gain from Independent.



Lexington – Paul McGrade to become Senior Counsel.

Interest Groups

Caritas Anchor House – Amanda Dubarry to become Chief Executive in March.

Marie Curie – Vindi Banga appointed as Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations – Andrew Burns appointed as Convener of the Board of Trustees.

The Wallich – Lindsay Cordery-Bruce appointed as Chief Executive.

Shipwrecked Fishermen and Mariners’ Royal Benevolent Society - Justin Osmond appointed as Chief Executive.

Groundswell – Steven Platts appointed as Chief Executive.

London Youth – Gillen Knight appointed as Director of Engagement.

Joseph Rowntree Foundation – Claire Ainsley appointed as Executive Director.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.