New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
6th April 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Baroness Farrington of Ribbleton (Labour, Life Peer) died on 30th March.

Lord Sanderson of Bowden (Conservative, Life Peer) retired on 29th March.

Lord Renwick of Clifton (Crossbench, Life Peer) retired on 31st March.

House of Commons

Science and Technology Committee – Clive Lewis discharged; Liz Kendall added as a member.

Government departments:

Baroness Manzoor appointed as a Government Whip.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Sea Fish Industry Authority (Seafish) - Michael Mitchell and Nathan de Rozarieux were appointed as industry representative members to the board.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Arts Council England – Ciara Eastell appointed as a General Council Member.

Geffrye Museum - Cynthia Polemis, Alexandra Robson and Edwina Sassoon reappointed as trustees.

Royal Armouries - Andrew Burnett, Anne Curry and Chris Mayer reappointed as Trustees.

Science Museum - Mary Archer reappointed as Chair of the Board.

Tate – Lionel Barber reappointed as a Trustee.

UK Sport - Martyn Worsley appointed to the Board.

Attorney General’s Office

Alison Saunders to stand down in October as Director of Public Prosecutions.

Department for International Trade

Joanna Crellin and Judith Slater named as HM Trade Commissioners.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council - Melanie Welham named as the Executive Chair.

Ministry of Justice

Parole Board - Nick Hardwick stood down as Chair.

Ministry of Defence

Nick Carter to replace Stuart Peach as Chief of Defence Staff in the summer.

Cabinet Office

Government Property Agency launched, with Liz Peace as Chair and Mike Parsons as Chief Executive.

HM Treasury

Government Economic Service – Sam Beckett and Clare Lombardelli appointed as Co-Heads.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Food Standards Agency - Advisory Committee for Social Science set up to replace the Social Science Research Committee, with Susan Michie as Chair, Julie Hill as Deputy Chair, George Gaskell, Spencer Henson, John McTernan, Julie Barnett, Hannah Lambie-Mumford, Dan Rigby and Seda Erdem as members.


UK Independence Party


Sebastian Fairweather as Party Treasurer.

Stuart Agnew as Spokesperson for Agriculture.

Jane Collins as Spokesperson for Animal Welfare.

Gerard Batten as Spokesperson for Brexit.

David Kurten as Spokesperson for Education.

Jonathan Bullock as Spokesperson for Energy.

Alan Craig as Spokesperson for Families & Children.

Mike Hookem as Spokesperson for Fisheries.

Ray Finch as Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs.

Julia Reid as Spokesperson for Health.

Dave Moreland as Spokesperson for Home Affairs.

William Dartmouth as Spokesperson for International Trade.

Stephen Bush as Spokesperson for Industry.

Ernie Warrender as Spokesperson for Small Business.

Jill Seymour as Spokesperson for Transport.



Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Government

Scottish Enterprise - Steve Dunlop to become Chief Executive in May.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results

29th March

Knowlsey Council – Del Arnall elected for Page Moss – Labour hold. (Veronica McNeill died).

5th April

Hampshire Council – Christine Hopkins elected for Milford – Conservative hold. (Sophie Beeton died).

Taunton Deane Council – Dave Mansell elected for Wiveliscombe and West Deane – Green gain from Independent. (Steve Ross resigned)

Fylde Council – Sally Nash elected for Heyhouses – Conservative hold. (Barbara Nash died).

Highland Council – Denis Rixson elected for Caol and Mallaig – Liberal Democrat gain from SNP. (Billy MacLachlan died).


Interest Groups

Citizens Advice - David Varney to stand down as Chair in autumn and Ann-Marie Harkin appointed as a Trustee.

Churches Conservation Trust - Carol Pyrah appointed a Member.

Fundraising Regulator – Gerald Oppenheim to replace Stephen Dunmore as Chief Executive from July.

RNIB – Sally Harvey stood down as Chief Executive.


Hume Brophy - James Wharton named as the first Corporate and Public Affairs Chair.

Think Tanks

Centre for Policy Studies – Alex Morton named as Head of Policy.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.