New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
30th July 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Digital, Culture, Media and Sport Committee – Clive Efford appointed as a member, Christian Matheson discharged.

Home Affairs Committee – Kate Green appointed as a member, Naz Shah discharged.

Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee - Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi and Teresa Pearce appointed as members, Mike Amesbury and Jo Platt discharged.

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Maria Caulfield appointed as a member, Jack Lopresti discharged.

Government Whips:

Mark Spencer promoted to Comptroller of HM Household.

Andrew Stephenson promoted to Vice Chamberlain of HM Household.     

Mike Freer promoted to Government Whip (Lord Commissioner of HM Treasury).

Iain Stewart, Michelle Donelan and Jeremy Quin appointed Assistant Government Whips.

Government Departments:

Northern Ireland Office

Shailesh Vara promoted to become Minister of State.

Home Office

Shona Dunn appointed as Second Permanent Secretary.

Wales Office
Mims Davies apppointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (unpaid)

Department for Transport

Mark Worthington has been appointed as independent HS2 Construction Commissioner.

High Speed 2 Ltd – Richard Robinson appointed as Chief Operating Officer and Michael Bradley as Chief Financial Officer.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

British Museum - Chris Gosden named as the Society of Antiquaries Trustee.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Crown Prosecution Service – Max Hill to replace Alison Saunders as Director of Public Prosecutions on 1st November.


Conservative Party

Helen Whately appointed as the Vice-Chair for Women.

Tom Pursglove appointed as the Vice-Chair for Youth.

Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

Simon Thomas resigned as Plaid Cymru AM for Mid and West Wales. His replacement will be confirmed in due course.

Local Authorities:

Slough Borough Council – Josie Wragg to become Chief Executive in the autumn.

Gedling Borough Council - Karen Bradford to become Chief Executive in November.

By-election Results 26th July

Merthyr Tydfil Council – Jeremy Davies elected for Gurnos – Independent gain from Labour. (Rhonda Braithwaite resigned).

New Forest Council – Merv Langdale elected for Fawley, Blackfield & Langley – Conservative hold. (Bob Wappet died).

North East Lincolnshire Council – Sheldon Mill elected for Freshney – Labour hold. (Ray Sutton resigned).

Plymouth Council – Jemima Laing elected for Stoke – Labour hold. (Philippa Davey resigned).

Thanet Council – Linda Wright elected for Birchington South – Conservative gain from UKIP. (Alan Howes died).

Torridge Council – Richard Boughton elected for Hartland & Bradworthy – Conservative gain from Liberal Democrat. (Jane Leaper resigned).

West Lancashire Council – Gareth Dowling elected for Knowsley – Labour hold. (Michelle Aldridge resigned).


Interest Groups

Intellectual Property Regulation Board – Lord Smith of Finsbury to become Chair on 7th September.

Solicitors Regulation Authority – Anna Bradley to replace Enid Rowlands as Chair from January.
Which? – Anabel Hoult appointed as Chief Executive from 1st October.
Institute of Legacy Management - Matthew Lagden appointed to replace Chris Millward as Chief Executive.


Co-operative Group – Rahul Powar appointed as Non-Executive Director.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.