New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
18th August 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week. 

Jo Swinson MP with new Liberal Democrat MP Sarah Wollaston
PA Images

See the makeup of the new government, including the ongoing Parliamentary Private Secretary announcements here.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Sarah Wollaston (formerly Conservative, had been sitting as Independent) has joined the Liberal Democrats.

Government Departments:

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Homes England – Edward Lister resigned as Chair.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Tate – Tim Davie reappointed as a Trustee, and Farooq Chaudhry appointed as Artist Trustee.

Historic Royal Palaces - Sarah Jenkins appointed as a Trustee.

Department for Education

School Teachers’ Review Body - Lynn Lawrence and Martin Post appointed as members.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Alan Gogbashian has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Republic of Armenia in succession to Ms Judith Farnworth.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Forestry Commission - Mike Seddon is the new Chief Executive of Forestry England.


Scottish Labour Party

Brian Roy is to stand down as General Secretary.

UK Independence Party

Richard Braine was elected as Leader of the Party.

Local Authorities:

Birmingham City Council – Clive Heaphy to become Chief Executive on an interim basis.

Derry and Strabane District Council - Andrew McKane was returned to fill the vacancy in Derg (Derek Hussey had been disqualified).

By-election Result 15th August

Shropshire Council – Gwendoline Burgess elected for Meole – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Nic Laurens).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

UNAIDS - Winnie Byanyima named as Executive Director.