New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
12th January 2018

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


See all the Government reshuffle updates here:

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Clinton-Davis (Labour, Life Peer) retired on 10th January.

House of Commons

Welsh Affairs Committee – Stephen Kinnock discharged; Thelma Walker appointed as a member.

Selection Committee - David Evennett, Andrew Griffiths and Esther McVey discharged; Chris Heaton-Harris, Christopher Pincher and Andrew Stephenson appointed as members.

Government Departments:

Department for Work and Pensions

BPDTS Ltd - Loveday Ryder to become Chief Executive on 22nd January.

Pensions Regulator – Mark Boyle reappointed as Non-Executive Chair.

Ministry of Defence

Charles Forte to become Chief Information Officer at the end of the month.

Department of Health and Social Care

Care Quality Commission - John Oldham, Liz Sayce and Mark Saxton appointed as Non-Executive Board Members.

Department for Transport

Highways England - David Poole to stand down as Executive Director for Procurement and Commercial in March.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Imperial War Museum – Desmond Bowen and Suzanne Nicholas appointed as Trustees.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Gareth Ward has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Socialist Republic of Vietnam.


Labour Party

Chris Williamson resigned as Shadow Minister for Home Office (Fire and Emergency Services)

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Scottish Parliamentary Corporate Body – Kezia Dugdale replaced David Stewart as a member.

Public Audit and Post-legislative Scrutiny Committee – Iain Gray replaced Monica Lennon as a member.

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee – Alex Rowley replaced David Stewart as a member.

Scottish Government

FinTech Scotland - Stephen Ingledew to become Chief Executive.

Welsh Government

Yasmin Khan and Nazir Afzal named as the new National Advisers for Violence against Women, Gender-based Violence, Domestic Abuse and Sexual Violence.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 11th January

Kent County Council – Liz Hurst elected for Birchington and Rural – Conservative hold.

Thanet Council – Reece Pugh elected for Thanet Villages - Conservative hold.

Lancashire County Council – Matthew Salter elected for Wyre Rural Central – Conservative hold.

Wyre Council – Peter Cartridge elected for Preesall – Conservative hold.



DRD Partnership - Pete Bowyer joined as a Partner.

Interest Groups

Age UK – Steph Harland named as Chief Executive, having been in the role on an interim basis.

Christian Aid – Amanda Khozi to become Chief Executive in April.

National Trust – Hilary McGrady to replace Helen Ghosh as Director General in March.

Action on Hearing Loss Cymru – Rebecca Woolley appointed as Director.

Teenage Cancer Trust – Kate Collins named as Interim Chief Executive.

Marie Curie – Vindi Banga appointed as Chair.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.