David Cameron appoints 13 new Conservative peers, as Shami Chakrabarti also takes seat in Lords

Posted On: 
4th August 2016

David Cameron created 13 new Conservative peers in the House of Lords as one of his final acts as prime minister.

David Cameron handed out 13 new peerages and 47 honours
PA Images

As reported by PoliticsHome, Jeremy Corbyn has appointed Shami Chakrabarti, the former director of Liberty, as the only new Labour member of the upper chamber – a decision one of his own MPs has already labelled “appalling”.

Mr Cameron’s resignation honours list, conferring knighthoods and other honours to political allies, aides and donors, has also been confirmed today.

David Cameron's Lords appointments and resignation honours: full list

Theresa May took money from donors at heart of Cameron honours row

WATCH: Shami Chakrabarti hints she has been offered a Labour peerage

Five of the new Tory appointments to the House of Lords – Gabrielle Bertin, Camilla Cavendish, Ed Llewellyn, Liz Sugg and Laura Wyld – worked in Downing Street with Mr Cameron.

Former special adviser Jonathan Caine, Conservative treasurer Andrew Fraser and Charlotte Vere, the former director of the Conservative pro-EU campaign, will also join the Conservatives benches.

There are two new crossbench appointments: Sir Nicholas Macpherson, the former permanent secretary at the Treasury, and Sir Peter Ricketts, the former national security adviser and ambassador to France.

Michael Spencer, whose recommendation was reportedly blocked by Whitehall, was not on the list of people given peerages.

The new members of the House of Lords come alongside the expected list of resignation honours.

Former chancellor George Osborne has been made a companion of honour, while Defence Secretary Michael Fallon and former Foreign Office minister Hugo Swire have been made knight commanders, and Oliver Letwin and Patrick McLoughlin have been given knighthoods. Conservative MP Caroline Spelman has been made a dame.

All the Conservative politicians given honours were supporters of the pro-EU campaign.

Among the others recognised in Mr Cameron’s resignation list were Britain Stronger In Europe director Will Straw, former No 10 communications director Craig Oliver, former press secretary Graeme Wilson, and Conservative donor Andrew Cook.

 A host of former Downing Street aides were also given honours.

Read the full list of the new peers and David Cameron's resignation honours list HERE.


Ms Chakrabarti’s appointment, comes after Tom Watson, Labour’s deputy leader, called on the party to refuse to take up any new peerages in order to avoid “legitimising” Mr Cameron’s rewards.

Hers is the first Labour Lords appointment since Jeremy Corbyn became leader.

Labour MP John Mann has tonight told LBC it was “appalling”. Pointing to Ms Chakrabarti’s chairing of an inquiry looking at anti-semitism in the Labour party, he said: “Cameron's doing cash for cronies and Corbyn's doing cash for reports.”

Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron has also piled in to the former prime minister for his appointments.

“David Cameron’s resignation honours list is so full of cronies it would embarrass a medieval court,” he said.