Tim Farron announces Lib Dem shadow reshuffle to 'stand up to Tory Brexit government'

Posted On: 
28th October 2016

Tim Farron has announced a reshuffle of his frontbench team, which he pledged would be a "strong Liberal voice to stand up to this Tory Brexit Government".

Tim Farron addressing Lib Dem conference

Although the shadow team is largely unchanged, former MP Don Foster has moved into the new Business and Industrial Strategy brief, taking over from another former MP, Lorely Burt, who has moved to Equalities.

Former senior police officer and London mayoral candidate Lord Paddick takes over as the party's Home Affairs spokesman from Alistair Carmichael.

Baroness Tonge quits Liberal Democrats after membership suspended in anti-Semitism row

Michael Gove: Liberal Democrats stopped me introducing new grammar schools

Ex-Liberal Democrat frontbencher joins Conservatives

Mr Carmichael, one of only eight Lib Dem MPs, becomes Shadow First Secretary of State. 

Full list of Liberal Democrat frontbench team

Tim Farron MP - Party leader

Baroness Sal Brinton - Party President 

Alistair Carmicahel - Shadow First Secretary of State 

Baroness Susan Kramer - Shadow Chancellor of the Exchequer

Tom Brake MP - Shadow Foreign Secretary, Shadow Leader of the House, Chief Whip

Lord Brian Paddick - Shadow Home Secretary

Nick Clegg MP - Shadow Brexit and International Trade Secretary

Baroness Judith Jolly - Shadow Defence Secretary

Norman Lamb MP - Shadow Health Secretary 

Lord Don Foster - Shadow Business and Industrial Strategy Secretary

Baroness Lynne Featherstone - Shadow Energy Secretary

John Pugh MP - Shadow Education Secretary

Baroness Cathy Bakewell - Shadow Work and Pensions

Baroness Lorely Burt - Shadow Equalities Secretary 

Lord Jonathan Marks - Shadow Justice Secretary

Baroness Kath Pinnock - Shadow Communities Secretary

Baroness Jenny Randerson - Shadow Transport Secretary

Baroness Jane Bonham-Carter - Shadow Culture Secretary

Lord Dick Newby - Leader of the House of Lords

Lord Ben Stoneham - Lords Chief Whip

Baroness Kate Parminter - Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Baroness Shas Sheehan - Shadow International Development Secretary

Mark Williams MP - Leader of the Liberal Democrats in Wales

Willie Rennie MSP - Leader of the Liberal Democrats in Scotland

Baroness Alison Suttie - Shadow Northern Ireland Secretary 

Caroline Pidgeon - Shadow Minister for London

Catherine Bearder - EU/ALDE Liaison

Baroness Sarah Ludford - Lords Shadow Brexit Minister