New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
27th September 2017

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Government departments:

Prime Minister’s Office

Very Reverend Jonathan Desmond Francis Greener has been appointed Dean of the Cathedral Church, Exeter.

Oliver Robbins joined No.10 as the Prime Minister’s EU adviser.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Council for Science and Technology – Prof Sir David Cannadine, Suranga Chandratillake, Prof Dame Ottoline Leyser, Prof Max Lu and Prof Joyce Tait were appointed as new members of the Council.

Cabinet Office

Lord Clark of Windermere has been appointed to the House of Lords Appointments Commission.

Department for Education

Apprenticeship Diversity Champions Network – Helen Grant MP was appointed as Chair.

Department for Exiting the EU

Judge Christopher Vajda has been nominated by the UK to serve another term as judge to the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU).

Philip Rycroft became Permanent Secretary following Oliver Robbins’ move to No.10.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Dominick Chilcott CMG has been appointed Her Majesty's Ambassador to the Republic of Turkey in succession to Richard Moore CMG. Mr Chilcott will take up his appointment in January 2018.

Ministry of Defence

UK Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) Air Chief Marshal Sir Stuart Peach has been elected as the new NATO Chairman of the Military Committee. It is anticipated that CDS will take over the role in June 2018.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Supreme Court – The Rt Hon the Lord Mance was appointed as Deputy President of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom upon the promotion of The Rt Hon the Baroness Hale of Richmond from Deputy President to President of the Supreme Court.

Local Authorities:

By-election 21st September

Chesterfield Council - Keith Falconer elected for Holmebrook – Liberal Democrat Gain from Labour.

Oadby and Wigston Council - Lily Kaufman elected for Oadby Uplands – Liberal Democrat Gain from Labour.

Waveney Council – Keith Robinson elected for Oulton Broad – Conservative Hold


City of London Corporation

Sir Roger Gifford, Chairman of the City of London Corporation's Green Finance Initiative, has been appointed to chair a new UK Government Taskforce on Green Finance.

Trade Associations

Build UK – Mark Castle has been appointed as Chair for a two-year term.

Interest groups

Cinema and Television Benevolent Fund (CTBF) – Alex Pumfrey has been appointed as Chief Executive as of next month.

Making Space – Rachel Peacock has been promoted to Chief Executive.

Drax Group plc – Dorothy Thompson will step down as Chief Executive at the end of 2017. Current CFO, Will Gardiner, will step up.

Compass – Richard Cousins is stepping down as Chief Executive in March 2018 and will be replaced by COO for Europe, Dominic Blakemore.

Penrith Building Society – Amyn Fazal will retire as Chief Executive on 31 December 2017.

Edelman – former DCMS Special Adviser, Craig Woodhouse will join Edelman in October.

Incisive Health – Prof Sir Mike Richards will join the senior advisory team in October as Senior Counsel



Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.