Graham Brady and Nick Clegg recognised in New Year honours list

Posted On: 
30th December 2017

Former Liberal Democrat leader Nick Clegg and chair of the 1922 Committee Graham Brady have received knighthoods in the New Year’s honours list.

Chair of the 1922 Committee Graham Brady

Nick Clegg ‘to receive knighthood’ in New Year honours list

Commons Diary: Graham Brady

Nick Clegg: "The Government is jumpy and insecure about Brexit"

Mr Brady, who is the most powerful politician on the list, was a key ally of Theresa May in the aftermath of the 2017 General Election, rejecting calls to replace Mrs May as party leader.


As chair of the 1922 Committee, Mr Brady would be in charge of overseeing any no confidence vote and party leadership election.


Mr Clegg, who lost his Sheffield Hallam seat in the 2017 election, has already said publicly that he does not want a peerage.


His knighthood was first reported last week, drawing criticism from Brexit supporters.


Other politicians receiving knighthoods include Christopher Cope, a junior minister under Margaret Thatcher’s government, and Jeremy Clifton-Brown, a Conservative junior whip under William Hague.


Labour MP and Commons deputy speaker Lindsay Hoyle received a knighthood, while former Wales Secretary Cheryl Gillian was the only female MP to receive the top honour.


Deputy leader of the Liberal Democrats Jo Swinson will receive a CBE for services to politics.


In total, 49% of awards went to women, down from 50% last year. The proportion of awards going to people with disabilities also fell, dropping from 8% to 5%.


9% of the number are from black, Asian, or minority ethnic backgrounds – unchanged from last year.