New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
23rd February 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Foreign Affairs Committee - Nusrat Ghani and Nadhim Zahawi discharged and Priti Patel and Bob Seely appointed as members.

Health and Social Care Committee - Caroline Johnson and Maggie Throup discharged and Derek Thomas and Martin Vickers appointed as members.

Home Affairs Committee – Will Quince discharged and Kirstene Hair appointed as a member.

Public Accounts Committee - Heidi Allen and Nigel Mills discharged and Anne Marie Morris and Lee Rowley appointed as members.

Treasury Committee – Kit Malthouse discharged and Simon Clarke appointed as a member.

Work and Pensions Committee – Chris Green discharged and Nigel Mills appointed as a member.

House of Lords

Lord Lester of Herne Hill resigned the Liberal Democrat Whip and now sits as non-affiliated.


Government Departments:

Non-Ministerial Departments

Ofqual - Ian Bauckham to become a board member on 1st March. Jo Saxton, Rob Nitsch, Delroy Beverley and Lesley Davies to become board members on 1st April, replacing Anne Heal, Barnaby Lenon, Tom Taylor, and Terri Scott.

Charity Commission – Baroness Stowell to become Chair.

National Savings and Investments – James Furse reappointed as a Non-Executive Director.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

VisitEngland – Nigel Halkes reappointed as Deputy Chair.

HM Treasury

Royal Mint – Anne Jessopp appointed as Chief Executive and Deputy Master of the Mint.



Liberal Democrats

Lord Lester of Herne Hill resigned as Spokesperson for Human Rights.

UK Independence Party

Gerard Batten replaced Henry Bolton as Leader on an interim basis.


Local Authorities:

Northampton Borough Council – George Candler to become Chief Executive at the end of April.

Braintree Council – Andy Wright appointed as Chief Executive having been in the role on an interim basis.






By-election Results 22nd February

Arun District Council – Matt Stanley elected for Marine – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Dougal Maconachie died).

Chichester District Council – Adrian Moss elected for Fishbourne – Liberal Democrat hold. (Sandra Westacott resigned).

Dorset County Council – Mark Roberts elected for Bridport – Conservative gain from Liberal Democrat. (Ros Kayes died).

West Dorset Council – Derek Bussell elected for Bridport North - Conservative gain from Liberal Democrat. (Ros Kayes died).

West Somerset District Council – Benet Allen elected for Minehead South – Liberal Democrat gain from Independent. (Tom Hall resigned. He had been sitting as UKIP).

Torfaen County Borough Council – Emma Rapier elected for Trevethin – Labour hold. (Matt Ford resigned).

Hertfordshire County Council – Lesley Greensmyth elected for Goffs Oak and Bury Green – Conservative hold. (Robert Gordon died).

Boston Borough Council – Tom Ashton elected for Old Leake and Wrangle – Conservative hold. (Maureen Dennis resigned).

North Kesteven District Council – Peter Rothwell elected for Eagle, Swinderby and Witham St Hughs – Conservative gain from Independent. (Barbara Wells died).

Lichfield District Council – Joanne Grange elected for Stowe – Conservative hold. (David Smedley resigned).

Scottish Borders Council – Caroline Penman elected for Selkirkshire – Independent gain from Conservative. (Michelle Ballantyne resigned).



Trade Unions

National Farmers Union – Minette Batters replaced Meurig Raymond as President.

Interest Groups

Unicef – Justin Forsyth resigned as Deputy Chief Executive.

Jo Cox Foundation – Brendan Cox resigned as Trustee.

More in Common – Brendan Cox resigned as Director.


J&H Communications – James Chapman to become Senior Adviser.

Brevia Consulting – Rob Flello appointed as Senior Adviser.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.