Skip to main content

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
25th June 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Tyrie (Life Peer, Non-affiliated) was introduced to the House.

Lord Inglewood now sits as non-affiliated (formerly Conservative).

House of Commons

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee – Rachel Maclean discharged; Patrick McLoughlin appointed as a member.

Home Affairs Committee – Sarah Jones discharged; Alex Norris appointed as a member.


Government Departments:

Ministry of Justice

Legal Services Board – Helen Phillips appointed as Chair.

Department for International Trade

Greg Hands MP resigned as Minister of State for Trade Policy, and was replaced by George Hollingbery (formerly a Government Whip).

Henry Bellingham MP appointed as Prime Minister's Trade Envoy to Libya, and Tim Loughton as Prime Minister's Trade Envoy to Mozambique and Democratic Republic of Congo.

Emma Wade-Smith named as Her Majesty's Trade Commissioner for Africa.

UK Export Finance – Samir Parkash appointed as Chief Risk Officer.

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Low Pay Commission - Kate Bell, Simon Sapper and Martin McTague to replace John Hannett, Brian Strutton and Peter Donaldson as Commissioners. Kay Carberry, Professor Sarah Brown and Clare Chapman reappointed as Commissioners.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

National Gallery – Tonya Nelson and Molly Stevens appointed as Trustees.

Department of Health and Social Care

NHS England – Paul Baumann to stand down as Chief Financial Officer.

Accelerated Access Collaborative – Lord Darzi appointed as Chair.

Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs

Natural Capital Committee – Melanie Austen and Chris Collins appointed as members.

Department for Work and Pensions

Karen Johnston reappointed as Deputy Pensions Ombudsman.

HM Treasury

Prudential Regulation Committee – Julia Black and Jill May appointed as members.


Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Government

Equality Commission - Joseph McVey, William Gamble, Reverend Lesley Carroll, William McKee, David Rose, Tom Hartley, Hazel Francey and Judith Gillespie reappointed as members until 31st May 2019 and Geraldine McGahey, Deborah Donnelly and Robin Mullan until 28th February.

National Assembly for Wales

Mandy Jones suspended from UKIP, now sits as Independent.


Local Authorities:

North Tyneside Council - Paul Hanson to replace Patrick Melia as Chief Executive on an interim basis from August.

Sunderland Council - Patrick Melia to replace Irene Lucas as Chief Executive.

North Lanarkshire Council – Des Murray to replace Paul Jukes as Chief Executive later in the year.

North Somerset Council – Helen Bailey to become Chief Executive on an interim basis from 2nd July.

By-election Results 21st June

West Somerset Council – Nicole Hawkins elected for Alcombe – Liberal Democrat gain from Ukip. (Adrian Behan resigned).

Basingstoke and Deane Council – Anne Court elected for Kempshott – Conservative hold. (Anne Court had been disqualified for non-attendance, but she restood in this election).

Cherwell Council – John Broad elected for Bicester West – Independent gain from Conservative. (Jolanta Lis died).

South Northamptonshire Council – Paul Wiltshire elected for Astwell – Conservative hold. (Simon Marinker resigned).

South Northamptonshire Council – Abigail Medina elected for Whittlewood – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Lizzy Bowen disqualified for non-attendance).

Charnwood Council – Jane Hunt elected for Quorn and Mountsorrel Castle – Conservative hold. (David Slater died).

Fenland Council –Ian Benney elected for Birch – Conservative hold. (David Green resigned).

Basildon Council – Kayode Adeniran elected for Lee Chapel North – Labour hold. (Alan Barrett resigned).

Basildon Council – Andrew Ansell elected for Pitsea South East – Labour gain from UKIP. (José Carrion resigned).

Watford Council – Imran Hamid elected for Oxhey – Liberal Democrat hold. (Peter Taylor resigned).

Brent Council – Fleur Donnelly-Jackson, Elliot Chappell and Tom Miller elected for Willesden Green – Labour hold. (delayed from May election).



Trade Associations

National Housing Federation - Kate Henderson has been appointed as the new Chief Executive, replacing David Orr in the autumn.

Confederation of British Industry – John Allan endorsed as President.


Govia Thameslink - Patrick Viewer to become Chief Executive in July.

Interest Groups

Barnardo’s - Sagar Sharma to become Director of Policy and Communications at the end of July.

Norwood - Beverley Jacobson to become Chief Executive, replacing Elaine Kerr.

War Child – Paul Vanags to become Director of Fundraising.

Changing Faces – Catherine Deakin appointed as Director of Fundraising and Communications.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.

Contributions from readers

There are currently no comments on this article - be the first to comment by logging in or registering for a free account.

Associated Organisation

Partner Content

Related Press Releases


More News

Editor's Choice

From the House magazine