New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
23rd September 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Sam Gyimah joined the Liberal Democrats.
PA Images

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Sam Gyimah joined the Liberal Democrats; he was previously sitting as an Independent MP.

Government Departments:

Maggie Throup appointed as a Government Whip.

Rachel Maclean appointed as Parliamentary Private Secretary to Sajid Javid as Chancellor.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Government Actuary’s Department – Alison White and Ian Wilson began their roles as Non-executive Directors.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform committee – Finlay Carson elected as Deputy Convener.

Scottish Government

Public Health Scotland – Angela Leitch to become Chief Executive of the new body.

Local Authorities:

Maidenhead Council – Simon Dudley resigned as Leader and David Coppinger took on the role in an interim basis.

St Helen’s Council - Mike Palin to stand down as Chief Executive next week.

East Lothian Council – Angela Leitch to stand down as Chief Executive in December.

By-election Results 19th September

Somerset West and Taunton Council – Derek Perry elected for Vivary – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (caused by the resignation of Catherine Herbert).

Wiltshire Council – Suzanne Wickham elected for Ethandune – Conservative hold. (caused by the death of Jerry Wickham).

Canterbury Council – Ben Fitter-Harding elected for Chestfield – Conservative hold. (caused by the death of Jenny Samper).

Hammersmith and Fulham Council – Helen Rowbottom elected for Fulham Broadway – Labour hold. (caused by the resignation of Alan de’Ath who has taken a politically-restricted job).

Liverpool Council – William Shortall elected for Old Swan – Labour hold. (caused by the resignation of Peter Brennan after he shared a racist video on WhatsApp).

North Lanarkshire Council – Norah Mooney elected for Thorniewood – Labour hold. (caused by the resignation of Hugh Gaffney MP).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Industry Associations

Chartered Institute of Public Relations – Mandy Pearse chosen as the President-elect for 2020.

Interest Groups

The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award – Ruth Marvel to become Chief Executive in November.

Mesothelioma UK – Guy Tewley appointed as Corporate Fundraising Officer.

The Cure Parkinson's Trust – Rick Lay appointed as Director of Fundraising and Marketing.


RBS – Alison Rose to become Chief Executive, replacing Ross McEwan on 1st November.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service