New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
13th November 2017

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

The Palace of Westminster


Priti Patel resigned as Secretary of State for International Development.

Chris Pincher resigned as a Whip.

Penny Mordaunt appointed as Secretary of State for International Development (previously Minister of State at the Department for Work and Pensions).

Sarah Newton appointed as Minister of State at the Department for Work and Pensions. (previously Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office).

Victoria Atkins appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State at the Home Office. (previously Parliamentary Private Secretary to Leader of the House of Lords).


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Richard John Carew Chartres was raised to the peerage as Lord Chartres.

Bernard Hogan-Howe was raised to the peerage as Lord Hogan-Howe.

Deputy Chairmen of Committees – Baroness Finlay of Llandaff, Lord Lexden, Baroness Newlove, Lord Palmer of Childs Hill and Lord Rogan appointed to the panel of members.

Joint Committee on the National Security Strategy - Lord Brennan, Lord Campbell of Pittenweem, Lord Hamilton of Epsom, Lord Harris of Haringey, Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill, Baroness Henig, Lord King of Bridgwater, Baroness Lane-Fox of Soho, Lord Powell of Bayswater and Lord Trimble appointed as members.

Communications Committee – Lord Gilbert of Panteg appointed as Chair. Baroness Stowell of Beeston and Lord Goodlad appointed as members, replacing Lord Henley and Lord Finkelstein.

Citizenship and Civic Engagement Committee – Baroness Eaton replaced Baroness Stedman-Scott as a member.

House of Commons

Charlie Elphicke suspended from the Conservative Party.

Joint Committee on Consolidation, &c., Bills. - That James Cleverly, Mims Davies, Chris Elmore, Patrick Grady, Eddie Hughes, Imran Hussain, Stephen Kerr, Conor McGinn, Amanda Milling, Grahame Morris, Melanie Onn and Julian Sturdy appointed as members.

Regulatory Reform Committee - That Bim Afolami, Andrew Bridgen, Douglas Chapman, Julie Elliott, Kirstene Hair, Simon Hoare, Graham Jones, Helen Jones, Kevan Jones, Conor McGinn, Stephen McPartland, Mark Menzies, Jeremy Quin and Karl Turner appointed as members.

Administration Committee - Patrick Grady appointed as a member.

European Scrutiny Committee - Geraint Davies appointed as a member.

Joint Committee on Human Rights - Joanna Cherry appointed as a member.

Government Departments:

Department of Health

NHS England - Stephen Powis to take up the role of National Medical Director, replacing Bruce Keog.


Ministry of Justice

Criminal Cases Review Commission – Celia Hughes reappointed as a Commissioner.


Legal Ombudsman - Rebecca Marsh to become Chief Ombudsman from January.

Cabinet Office

Patrick Vallance appointed as Chief Scientific Adviser, starting in the spring.

Non-Departmental Public Bodies

Churches Conservation Trust – Beth McHattie reappointed as a member.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Mark McDonald resigned as Minister for Children and Early Years.

Maree Todd appointed as Minister for Children and Early Years.

Finance and Constitution Committee – Emma Harper replaced Maree Todd as a member.

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee – Kate Forbes replaces Emma Harper as a member.

National Assembly for Wales

Carl Sargeant (Labour, Alyn and Deeside) died on 7th November.


Local Authorities:

By-election Results 9th November

High Peak Council –Peter Roberts elected for Limestone Peak – Conservative hold.

Flintshire Council – Andy Williams elected for Buckley Bistre West – Labour hold.

Fareham Council – Jim Forrest elected for Stubbington – Liberal Democrat gain from UKIP.

Camden Council – Jenny Mulholland elected for Gospel Oak – Labour hold.

Wandsworth Council –John Locker elected for Thamesfield – Conservative hold.



Professional Bodies

College of Policing – Mike Cunningham named as the new Chief Executive.


Hanover - Kelly-Anne Thomas appointed as Account Director.

GK Strategy - Christine Quigley, Rebecca Lury and Martin Summers appointed as Associate Directors.

Ketchum London - Jo-Ann Robertson named as Chief Executive.

Field Consulting – Jake Sumner joined as Director.


Easyjet - Johan Lundgren to replace Carolyn McCall at the end of the month.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.