New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
21st November 2017

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

PA Images

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Imbert (crossbench, life peer) died 13th November.

Lord Mitchell has moved from Non-Affiliated to Crossbench.

House of Commons

Intelligence and Security Committee - Richard Benyon, Ian Blackford, Caroline Flint, Dominic Grieve, David Hanson, Kevan Jones and Keith Simpson appointed as members.

Public Accounts Commission - Richard Bacon, Jack Brereton, Nicholas Brown, Martyn Day, Clive Efford, Julian Knight and Edward Leigh appointed as members; James Cartlidge and Ian Murray discharged as members.

Selection Committee – Esther McVey and Mark Spencer replaced Christopher Pincher and Julian Smith as members.

Government Departments:

Department for Education

School Teachers' Review Body - Ken Clark reappointed as a member.

Institute for Apprenticeships - Gerry Berragan to become Chief Executive on 27th November.

Residential Care Leadership Board - Alan Wood named as Chair.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Joanne Lomas has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Rwanda, and Non-resident Ambassador to the Republic of Burundi in succession to William Gelling.

Home Office

College of Policing - Millie Banerjee appointed as Chair.

Forensic Science Regulator - Gillian Tully reappointed as Forensic Science Regulator.

Cabinet Office

John Parker appointed as Lead Non-Executive Director.

Government Property Unit – Mike Parsons appointed as Director-General.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Innovate UK – Ruth McKernan to stand down as Chief Executive in the spring.

Department of Health

NHS England - Stephen Powis appointed as Medical Director, replacing Bruce Keogh in 2018.

Department for Communities and Local Government

Local Government Boundary Commission for England - Andrew Scallan and Steve Robinson appointed as Commissioners.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Joint Nature Conservation Committee - Ian Bateman and Colin Galbraith reappointed as independent members.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Tate - Roland Rudd appointed as a trustee.


Scottish Labour

Alex Rowley resigned as Deputy Leader and Acting Leader.

Jackie Baillie appointed as Acting Leader.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Mark McDonald suspended from the SNP and now sits as Independent.

Alex Rowley MSP suspended from the Labour Party and now sits as Independent.

Economy Jobs and Fair Work Committee - Colin Beattie replaced Gil Paterson as a member; Tom Arthur replaced Ash Denham.

 Health and Sport Committee - Emma Harper replaced Maree Todd as a member; Sandra White replaced Tom Arthur; Ash Denham replaced Clare Haughey.

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee - Stewart Stevenson replaced Emma Harper as a member.

Education and Skills Committee - Richard Lochhead replaced Clare Haughey as a member; George Adam replaced Colin Beattie.

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee - Clare Haughey replaced Clare Adamson as a member.

Social Security Committee - Clare Adamson replaced Sandra White as a member.

Scottish Government

Gayle Gorman to become Chief Inspector of Education for Scotland on 4th December.

Scottish Police Authority – Susan Deacon appointed Chair of the Board, replacing Andrew Flanagan.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 16th November

Waveney Council – Peter Byatt elected for Kirkley – Labour hold.

Waveney Council – Linda Coulam elected for St Margaret’s – Conservative gain from Labour.

Chiltern Council – Jonathan Waters elected for Penn and Coleshill – Conservative hold.

West Lindsey Council – Bob Waller elected for Sudbrooke – Conservative hold.

South Holland Council – Janet Whitbourn elected for Whaplode and Holbeach St John’s – Conservative hold.

Fylde Council – Jayne Nixon elected for Staining and Weeton – Conservative hold.

Eden Council – Mark Rudhall elected for Penrith North – Liberal Democrat hold.

Darlington Council – Alan Marshall elected for Mowden – Conservative hold.

Darlington Council – Sharifah Rahman elected for Red Hall and Lingfield – Labour hold.

Hartlepool Council – Katie Trueman elected for Victoria – Labour hold.


Trade Unions

Fire Brigades Union Scotland – Denise Christie elected as Secretary.

Usdaw – Paddy Lillis elected to replace John Hannett as General Secretary.

Interest Groups

Cancer Research UK Cambridge Institute – Greg Hannon appointed as Director.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.