New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
17th September 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

PA Images

Government Departments: 

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport 

Birmingham Organising Committee for the 2022 Commonwealth Games - Jonathan Browning and Zara Hyde Peters named as Non-Executive Directors.

Arts Council England – Helen Birchenough appointed as South West Area Chair.

Tate - John Booth appointed as a Trustee.

HM Treasury 

Bank of England - Mark Carney reappointed as Governor and Jon Cunliffe as Deputy Governor of the Bank of England with responsibility for Financial Stability.


Department for Education 

School Teachers' Review Body – Andrew Waller and Harriet Kemp appointed as members.


Devolved Authorities: 


National Assembly for Wales 

Caroline Jones resigned from UKIP and now sits as an Independent.


Welsh Government 

Welsh Revenue Authority Board - Dyfed Edwards named as Deputy Chair.

Scottish Parliament 
Justice Sub-Committee on Policing – Fulton MacGregor replaced Ben Macpherson as a member.

Local Authorities: 

By-election Results 13th September 

Cambridge Council – Kelley Green elected for Petersfield – Labour hold. (Ann Sinnott resigned).

Charnwood Council – Shona Rattray elected for Birstall Wanlip – Conservative hold. (Renata Jones resigned).

Pembrokeshire Council – Jon Harvey elected for Pembroke: St Mary North – Independent gain from Conservative. (David Boswell resigned).

New Forest Council – Andrew Gossage elected for Pennington - Conservative hold. (Penny Jackman resigned).

Maidstone Council – Karen Chappell-Tay elected for Headcorn – Conservative hold. (Shelina Prendergast resigned).

Lambeth Council – Scarlett O'Hara elected for Coldharbour – Labour hold. (Matthew Parr died).





Nationwide – Patrick Eltridge appointed as Chief Operating Officer, starting in January 2019


Interest Groups 

Oxfam - Dhananjayan Sriskandarajah to become Chief Executive towards the end of the year.

Ada Lovelace Institute – Alan Wilson named as Executive Chair.

Hospice UK – Robert Peston to become Chair later in the year.

LifeArc – Melanie Lee appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Dave Tapolczay.

Shooting Star Chase – Nigel Harding appointed as Chief Executive.

Invictus Games Foundation – Sam Newell named as Director of Communications.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.