New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
8th October 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Prior of Brampton resigned the Conservative Whip to sit as a Crossbencher due to his NHS Chair appointment.

Government Departments:

Department for International Development

Marc Bolland appointed to the board as Lead Non-Executive Director, and Alan Johnson appointed to the board as Chair of the Risk and Assurance Committee.

Department for Health and Social Care

NHS England – Lord Prior of Brampton appointed as Chair from 31st October.

Care Quality Commission – Andrea Sutcliffe to stand down as Chief Inspector of Adult Social Care at the end of the year.

HM Treasury

Office of Tax Simplification - Paul Morton stood down as Tax Director and Angela Knight to stand down as Chair once a replacement for both roles is announced.


Scottish Labour Party changes:

Jackie Baillie left post as Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Jobs and Fair Work.

Anas Sarwar left post as Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport.

Colin Smyth appointed Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Infrastructure, Connectivity and Transport.

Alex Rowley appointed Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Local Government.

Pauline McNeil appointed Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Equalities, Housing and Social Security.

Rhoda Grant appointed Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy.

Monica Lennon appointed Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Health and Sport.

Richard Leonard assumed the Economy brief.


Local Authorities:

By-election Results 4th October

Cambridgeshire Council – Mark Goldsack elected for Soham North & Isleham – Conservative hold. (Paul Raynes resigned).

Chesterfield Council – Tony Rogers elected for Moor – Liberal Democrat gain from Labour.  (Keith Brown died).

Hambleton Council – Dave Elders elected for Thirsk – Conservative hold. (Janet Watson resigned).



Legal & General Group plc – Henrietta Baldock appointed as an independent Non-executive Director.

Interest Groups

Nursing and Midwifery Council – Andrea Sutcliffe to become Chief Executive and Registrar in January.

Small Charities Coalition – Mandy Johnson resigned as Chief Executive.

UN Women National Committee – Baroness Verma appointed as Chair.
Carers UK – Helen Walker appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Heléna Herklots.

League Against Cruel Sports – Andy Knott appointed as Chief Executive.

LifeArc - Melanie Lee to replace Dave Tapolczay as Chief Executive on 1st November.

YHA – Anita Kerwin-Nye named as Director of Strategy and Engagement.

Step Together – Anna-Clare Temple appointed as Chief Executive.


FTI – Stephen Day to become a Partner.

FleishmanHillard Fishburn – Tomos Davies named as an Associate Director.

Trade Associations

National Association for Voluntary and Community Action – John Tizard appointed as Chair.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.