New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
5th August 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

PA Images

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Faulks has left the Conservatives, and now sits as non-affiliated.

Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint has left the Conservatives, and now sits as non-affiliated.

House of Commons

Jane Dodds was elected as the new Liberal Democrat MP for Brecon and Radnorshire, the seat was previously held by Conservative Chris Davies.


Government Departments:

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Nuclear Decommissioning Authority – Tom Smith to stand down as Chair in February when his term ends.

Radioactive Waste Management – Bruce McKirdy is to retire and stand down as Managing Director in March.

Civil Nuclear Police Authority - Sue Scane joined as an independent member.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Marine Management Organisation – Tom McCormack to become Chief Executive in September.

Ministry of Defence

Defence Equipment and Support - Mark Russell has been announced as the Chair, starting in November.



Scottish Green Party

Lorna Slater and Patrick Harvie were elected as Co-Leaders of the party.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Sarah Boyack has replaced Kezia Dugdale as the Labour MSP for Lothian.


Local Authorities:

By-election Result 30th July
City of London Corporation – Dawn Linsey Wright elected for Coleman Street – Independent gain from Independent. (Stuart Fraser resigned).

By-election Results 1st August

Stockport Council – Charles Gibson elected for Hazel Grove – Liberal Democrat hold. (Jon Twigge resigned).

Huntingdonshire Council – Sarah Wilson elected for Godmanchester and Hemingford Abbots – Liberal Democrat hold. (David Underwood resigned).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at


Interest Groups

Royal College of Physicians - Wajid Hussain appointed as the Clinical Director for Digital Health.

Heart Research UK - Kate Bratt-Farrar appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Barbara Harpham.

Volunteering Matters - Paul Reddish to replace Oonagh Aitken as Chief Executive.

Transparency International UK - Daniel Bruce will become Chief Executive in the autumn.


Trade Associations

Association of Police and Crime Commissioners - Katy Bourne was elected as Chair.