Mon, 5 June 2023

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Women in Westminster: In Conversation With Nickie Aiken MP Partner content
Press releases

Who's been hired, fired or retired this week in UK politics – 28 October

Who's been hired, fired or retired this week in UK politics – 28 October
6 min read

A round up of people moves and appointments in UK and devolved politics, the civil service and public affairs, from our colleagues at Dods People.

Get People Moves straight to your inbox on Fridays. Sign up here.

Details of the Government reshuffle can be found here.

Houses of Parliament:
House of Commons

Christian Matheson appointed as Steward and Bailiff of the Three Hundreds of Chiltern on 21 October. A by-election for a new MP for City of Chester will take place on 1 December.
Committee Chairs:
Education Committee – due to the appointment of the Chair Robert Halfon as a Minister of State in the Department of Education on 26 October an election will take place to appoint a new Chair in due course.
Health and Social Care Committee – Currently one nominee for Chair: Steve Brine.
Treasury Committee – due to the appointment of the Chair Mel Stride as Secretary of State for Work and Pension on 25 October an election will take place to appoint as new Chair. Nominations are open until noon on 8 November. If there is only one candidate, the result is likely to announced that day. If there is more than one candidate, the ballot will take place on 9 November and the result will be announced in the Chamber later that day.
Committee Membership:
Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee – Bim Afolami, Jonathan Djanogly, Ruth Edwards and Robert Largan added; Richard Fuller, Nusrat Ghani, Paul Howell and Mark Jenkinson discharged.
Defence Committee – Andrew Bowie and Robert Courts added; Stuart Anderson and Sarah Atherton discharged.
Education Committee – Andrew Lewer added; Dr Caroline Johnson discharged.
Health and Social Care Committee – James Morris and Helen Whately added; Marco Longhi and Dean Russell discharged.
Levelling Up, Housing and Communities Committee – Natalie Elphicke and Paul Holmes added; Sara Britcliffe and Darren Henry discharged.
Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Robin Walker added; Scott Benton discharged.
Committee of Public Accounts – Jonathan Djanogly and Anne Marie Morris added; Shaun Bailey, Anthony Higginbotham and Craig Mackinlay discharged.
Science and Technology Committee – Stephen Metcalfe and Iain Stewart added; Dehenna Davison and Katherine Fletcher discharged.
Transport Committee – Jack Brereton added; Simon Jupp discharged.
Women and Equalities Committee – Victoria Atkins added; Jackie Doyle-Price discharged.
House of Lords
Introduction of Lord Johnson of Lainston (Conservative, life peer) and Lord Murray of Blidworth (Conservative, life peer) to the Lords took place on 24 October.
Earl of Effingham (Conservative) and Lord Ashcombe (Conservative) elected as hereditary peers on 24 October.
The Bishop of Lichfield joined the House of Lords on 25 October.

UK Government:
Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
British Tourist Authority – Nick de Bois appointed as Chair for three years from 1 November until 31 October 2025.
Royal Museums Greenwich – Professor Julian Dowdeswell re-appointed as Trustee for four years.
VisitEngland – Fiona Pollard appointed as Interim Chair of the Advisory Board for nine months from 1 November until 31 July 2023, whilst the appointment process for a permanent Chair is conducted following the resignation of Nick de Bois CBE.
Ministry of Justice
Judicial Appointments Commission – The Honourable Mr Justice Adam Johnson appointed as a Judicial Commissioner for three years.
Civil Procedure Rules Committee – Ian Curtis-Nye appointed as Lay Member for three years from 24 October.
Sentencing Council – Beverley Thompson-Brown OBE re-appointed as Non-judicial Member for three years.
Northern Ireland Office
Leslie Philpott re-appointed as Lead Non-Executive Director for the Northern Ireland Office for three years until 30 September 2026.
Deirdre Toner re-appointed as Chair of the Civil Service Commissioners for five years until 31 May 2028.
Privy Council Office
David Davies MP, Gillian Keegan MP, John Glen MP, Victoria Prentis MP and Jeremy Quin MP appointed as Privy Counsellors.
Department for Transport
Active Travel England – Declan Collier, Isabel Dedring, Andy Street and Sir Chris Whitty appointed to a new advisory panel.
HM Treasury
Bank of England – The re-appointment of Sir Dave Ramsden as the Deputy Governor for Markets and Banking approved by the Treasury Committee.


Michael Prendergast selected as candidate for the upcoming West Lancashire by-election. Current MP Rosie Cooper is still to officially resign as MP.

Devolved Administrations:
Scottish Government

Ash Regan resigned as Minister for Community Safety on 27 October.
Welsh Government
Youth Work Strategy Implementation Board – Deb Austin, Marco Gil-Cervantes, Kelly Harris, Lowri Jones, Shahinoor Alom Shumon, Joanne Sims, Dr Simon Stewart, Sian Elen Tomos, David Williams appointed as Board Members.
Northern Ireland Executive
Les Allamby appointed as Discretionary Support Commissioner from 1 November.
Agri-Food and Biosciences Institute – Roberta Brownlee re-appointed as Deputy Chair for two years from 1 April 2023 until 31 March 2025.
Northern Ireland Building Regulations Advisory Committee – Mabel Higgins re-appointed as Chair until 14 April 2025; Ross Reid re-appointed as Member (Architecture area of expertise) and David Algie re-appointed as Member (Building Services, Engineering and Energy area of expertise) until 29 September 2025.
Northern Ireland Fishery Harbour Authority – Alan McKeown appointed as Interim Chair of the Board for nine months.
Northern Ireland Housing Executive – Nicole Lappin appointed as Chair of the Board from 5 November.

Local Authorities:
Interested in an updated contact list of Local Government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods Account Manager or Customer Services for more details.
Conwy County Borough Council – Rhun ap Gareth appointed as Chief Executive, succeeding Iwan Davies who will retire at the end of November.
Slough Borough Council – Stephen Brown appointed as Chief Executive.

If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at
Boeing – Russ Oates joining the UK Global Media Team; Nicola Hammond appointed to replace him as Head of Communications UK and Ireland.
Thakeham – Claire Macaleese appointed as Chief Commercial Officer from November, leaving the role of Director Communications Europe and Israel at Boeing.
Interest Groups
British Heart Foundation – Dr Doug Gurr has stood down as Chair after seven years in the role; he has been replaced by Wendy Becker.
Guy’s & St Thomas’ Charity, Evelina London Children’s Charity and Guy’s Cancer Charity – Barbara Kasumu appointed as Executive Director. The three charities are part of Guy’s & St Thomas’ Foundation and support Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.