New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
10th December 2018

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

The Palace of Westminster

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Baroness Osamor (Labour, Life Peer) was introduced to the House.

Lord Willoughby de Broke changed party from UKIP to sit as non-affiliated.

Services Committee – Lord McAvoy resigned as a member and Lord Touhig and Baroness Wheeler appointed as members.

House of Commons

Stephen Lloyd resigned the Liberal Democrat Whip and now sits as Independent.

Public Accounts Committee – Anne-Marie Trevelyan replaced Gillian Keegan as a member.

Treasury Committee – Steve Baker replaced Stephen Hammond as a member.

Government Departments:

Department for Education and Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Sam Gyimah resigned as Minister of State for Universities, Science, Research and Innovation and Chris Skidmore was appointed to the role.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Committee on Climate Change – Piers Forster appointed to the committee, replacing Brian Hoskins.

Nuclear Decommissioning Authority - Lawrie Haynes appointed Chair Designate of the new subsidiary body planned for September, Magnox Ltd.

HM Treasury

The Crown Estate Board – Paula Hay-Plumb reappointed as Crown Estate Commissioner.

Home Office

Disclosure and Barring Service – Gillian Fairfield took over from Bill Griffiths as Chair.

Department for International Trade

Mark Menzies named as the Trade Envoy to Argentina.

Department for Transport

HS2 Ltd – Allan Cook replaced Terry Morgan as Chair.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Sir Nicholas Kay KCMG has been appointed as NATO's next Senior Civilian Representative (SCR) in Afghanistan.

Philip Rushbrook has been appointed Governor of St Helena, Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha in succession to Lisa Honan in May 2019.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Sue Owen to stand down as Permanent Secretary.

Ministry of Defence

New appointments from spring 2019:

Vice Admiral Timothy Fraser CB is to be promoted Admiral and appointed Vice Chief of the Defence Staff, in succession to General Gordon Messenger.

Vice Admiral Tony Radakin CB is to be promoted Admiral and appointed First Sea Lord and Chief of Naval Staff, in succession to Admiral Sir Philip Jones.

Air Marshal Michael Wigston CBE is to be promoted Air Chief Marshal and appointed as Chief of the Air Staff, in succession to Air Chief Marshal Sir Steven Hillier.

Lieutenant General Patrick Sanders CBE, DSO is to be promoted General and appointed Commander Joint Forces Command, in succession to General Sir Christopher Deverell.

Defence Innovation Advisory Panel – Julia King, Simon Segans, Dave Allen and Fiona Murray appointed as members.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Charity Commission - Tony Cohen, Ian Karet and Nina Hingorani-Crain appointed as board members from 1st January, when Eryl Besse and Tony Leifer will stand down.


Welsh Labour

Mark Drakeford elected as Leader of the Party, replacing Carwyn Jones.

Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Assembly

Emma Sheerin appointed as the new Sinn Féin MLA for Mid Ulster.

Welsh Government

Social Care Wales - Arwel Ellis Owen to stand down as Chair in July.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 6th December

Highland Council – Alexander MacInnes elected for Wester Ross, Strathpeffer and Lochalsh – SNP gain from Liberal Democrat. (Kate Stephen resigned).

Leicester Council – Padmini Chamund elected for Belgrave – Labour hold. (Mansukhlal Chohan died).

Oxford Council – Liz Wade elected for Wolvercote – Liberal Democrat hold. (Angie Goff died).

Surrey Council – Amanda Boote elected for The Byfleets – Independent gain from Conservative. (Richard Wilson died).


Interest Groups

Learning and Work Institute – Naomi Clayton and Joe Dromey to become Deputy Directors of Research and Development in January.

Cancer Research UK – Rita Akushie appointed as Chief Financial Officer.

Action for Pulmonary Fibrosis - Louise Wright named as the new Chief Executive.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.