New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
18th February 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

European Union Committee – Earl of Lindsay replaced Lord Risby as a member.

House of Commons

Work and Pensions Committee – Anna Soubry replaced Alex Burghart as a member.

Government Departments:

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Kara Owen appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Singapore in succession to Scott Wightman in July 2019.

Simon Boyden appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Islamic Republic of Mauritania.

Vicki Treadell CMG MVO has been appointed British High Commissioner to Australia.

Ministry of Justice

Justin Russell announced as the candidate for Chief Inspector of Probation, and would replace Glenys Stacey on 31st May.

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Building Better, Building Beautiful Commission – Gail Mayhew, Mary Parsons, Nicholas Boys Smith and Kim Wilkie named as Commissioners.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

National Heritage Memorial Fund/The National Lottery Heritage Fund – Ray Macfarlane to become the Scottish Trustee to the board from 1st April.

Imperial War Museum – Margaret Macmillan appointed as Academic Trustee.


Conservative Party

Nigel Huddleston appointed as Vice-Chair for Youth.

Social Democratic and Labour Party

Daniel McCrossan appointed as Spokesperson on Brexit, replacing Claire Hanna.

Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

Delyth Jewell sworn in as the Plaid Cymru replacement AM for South Wales East.

Delyth Jewell appointed as Shadow Minister for International Affairs and Culture.

External Affairs and Additional Legislation Committee – Delyth Jewell appointed as a member.

Scottish Government

Infrastructure Commission - Iain Docherty, Ken Gillespie, Benny Higgins, Mary Pitcaithly, Rachel Skinner, Grahame Smith, Sara Thiam, John Trower and Janette Webb appointed as commissioners.

Local Authorities:

By-election Result 14th February

Vale of Glamorgan Council - Andrew R T Davies elected for Rhoose – Conservative hold. (Matthew Lloyd resigned).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade Associations

National Sheep Association-Scotland – Jen Craig elected as the Chair.


TheCityUK – Mark Tucker appointed as Chair.


iNHouse – Chris Wilkins appointed as Chief Strategic Adviser.

Brunswick Group – John Davies joined as Senior Adviser.

Interest Groups

Women’s Aid – Katie Ghose stood down as Chief Executive.

Shaw Trust – Chris Luck appointed as Chief Executive from May.

Sentebale – Graham Leigh appointed as Chief Operating Officer and Director of Fundraising.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.