New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
18th March 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Procedure Committee – Gareth Snell replaced Dan Carden as a member.

Welsh Affairs Committee – Jonathan Edwards replaced Liz Saville Roberts as a member.

Government Departments

Department for Work and Pensions

Sarah Newton resigned as Minister of State for Disabled People, Health and Work.

Home Office

Paul Masterton resigned as PPS.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Sarah Healey named as the new Permanent Secretary, replacing Sue Owen who retires at the end of the month.

Tate Museum Board – Anna Lowe named as the Youth Engagement Trustee.

Reviewing Committee on the Export of Works of Art - Hayden Phillips reappointed as Chair and Christopher Rowell and Peter Barber as members.

Department of Health and Social Care

Fiona Caldicott to become the first National Data Guardian.

NHS - Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent named as the first Chief Midwifery Officer.

Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland

Shonaig Macpherson appointed as Lead Non-executive Director.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Natural Enland – Tony Juniper appointed as Chair from 23rd April.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Robert Chatterton Dickson has been appointed British High Commissioner to the People’s Republic of Bangladesh.


Labour Party Frontbench

Stephanie Peacock resigned as a Whip.

Ruth Smeeth resigned as PPS to the Deputy Leader.

Yvonne Fovargue resigned as Shadow Housing Minister.

Emma Lewell-Buck resigned as Shadow Education Minister.

Justin Madders resigned as Shadow Business Minister.

Labour Party PLP Departmental Groups

Foreign Affairs – Pat McFadden elected as Chair, replacing John Woodcock who left the party.

Health – Paul Williams elected as Chair, replacing Luciana Berger who left the party.


Housing and Planning – Helen Hayes elected as Chair, replacing Gareth Snell.

International Development – Anna Turley elected as Chair, replacing Ivan Lewis who left the party.

Transport – Daniel Zeichner elected as Chair, replacing Gavin Shuker who left the party.

Treasury – Wes Streeting elected as Chair, replacing Chris Leslie who left the party.

Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

Petitions Committee – Janet Finch-Saunders elected as Chair.

Welsh Government

Board of Community Health Councils – John Pearce named as the new Chair.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 14th March

Southampton Council – Matt Renyard elected for Coxford – Labour gain from Independent. (Keith Morrell resigned).

Croydon Council – Leila Ben-Hassel elected for Norbury and Pollards Hill – Labour hold. (Maggie Mansell died).

Durham Council – John Higgins elected for Wingate – Labour hold. (Robert Leo Taylor died).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

The Royal National Lifeboat Institution - Mark Dowie named as Chief Executive.

Muscular Dystrophy UK – Alec Raven named as Director of Development.

British Horse Society - Lynn Peterson to retire as Chief Executive.

Fight for Sight -Sherine Krause named as Chief Executive.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.