New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
1st April 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Houses of Parliament
House of Lords
Lord Ravensdale elected as the new crossbench hereditary peer, following the death of Viscount Slim earlier this year.
The Bishop of Derby joined the house on the 28th March.

Officers and officials
Parliamentary Office of Science and Technology – Professor Elizabeth Fisher to replace Professor Fran Balkwill as a board member.

Government Departments
Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Alistair Burt resigned as Foreign Minister / Minister of State for the Middle East.

Department of Health and Social Care
Steve Brine has resigned as Health Minister / Parliamentary Under-Secretary for Public Health and Primary Care.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Richard Harrington resigned as Minister for Business and Industry.
Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA) – Gwen Parry-Jones OBE announced as chief executive of Magnox Ltd.

Department for International Trade
UK Export Finance (UKEF) – appointed Rahul Tabhane as Country Head for India.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport
DCMS Departmental Board – Sherry Coutu has been appointed as a non-executive board member for a term of three years.
Royal Armouries – Trustee and Interim Chair Hemant Patel has had both roles extended, each for a term of six months from 2 May.
Horserace Betting Levy Board – Paul Lees role as chair of the board has been extended for a one-year term from 1 April.

Ministry of Defence
NATO – Tim Radford has been appointed as Deputy Supreme Allied Commander Europe (DSACEUR).

Labour Party Frontbench
Melanie Onn resigned from the Housing Team.

Devolved Authorities
National Assembly for Wales
UKIP – Michelle Brown AM has resigned from the party and is now sitting as an independent.
Scrutiny of the First Minister – Janet Finch Saunders replaced David J Rowlands as a member.

Local Authorities
Camden Council – Jenny Rowlands had replaced Mike Cooke as Chief Executive.

By-election Results 28th March
Clackmannanshire council - Jane McTaggart elected for Clackmannanshire Central - SNP hold. (Phil Fairlie resigned).
Sutton council - Barry Lewis elected for Wallington North – Liberal Democrat hold. (Joyce Melican resigned).


Interest Groups
Royal College of Physicians – Professor Andrew Goddard has been appointed to the NHS’ new NHS Assembly.

Trade Associations
Sharing Economy UK (SEUK) – Olivia Knight elected as the Chair for a one-year term. Fergus Campbell, Siddarth VijayaKumar and Marie Lorimer join as board members, each for a two-year term.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.