New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
7th May 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Ministerial Changes

Gavin Williamson was sacked as Secretary of State for Defence.

Penny Mordaunt appointed as Secretary of State for Defence (formerly Secretary of State for International Development).

Rory Stewart appointed as Secretary of State for International Development (formerly Minister of State, Ministry of Justice).


Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Fiona Onasanya removed as MP for Peterborough. A by-election will take place on 6th June.

Intelligence and Security Committee of Parliament – Stewart Hosie replaced Ian Blackford as a member.

Statutory Instruments Joint Committee – Susan Elan Jones replaced Dan Carden as member


Government Departments:

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Office of Communications – Julie Pirone and Stephen Spiers appointed as members of the Advisory Committee for Scotland.

Northern Ireland Office

Local Government Pension Scheme for Northern Ireland - Lindsay Todd named as Chair, Mark McBride as Independent Member and Paddy Mackel as Employee Representative Member.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission – Adam Smith, Adrian Greer, Judith Buchanan and Leslie Vinjamuri appointed as members.

Melinda Simmons has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to Ukraine.

Department for Work and Pensions

Industrial Injuries Advisory Council - Raymond Agius named as an independent member.

Department of Health and Social Care

Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency – John Wilkinson to retire as Director of Devices in October.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Committee on Fuel Poverty - Anuradha Singh appointed as a member.


Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

Standards of Conduct Committee - Gareth Bennett removed as a member.

Welsh Government

Care Inspectorate Wales - Margaret Rooney became Deputy Chief Inspector.

Scottish Parliament

Kezia Dugdale to stand down as an MSP for Lothian this summer and will be replaced by Sarah Boyack.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

Road Safety Foundation – Kate Fuller named as Road Safety Engineering Director.

Seafarers UK – Catherine Spencer appointed as Chief Executive, starting in July.

Action on Hearing – Michael Wilkinson appointed as Digital Director.


FTI Consulting – Stephen Day named as Head of Issues and Campaigns.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.