New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
1st October 2017

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Rona Fairhead and Theodore Agnew to become members of the House of Lords in due course.

Government Departments:

Department for International Trade

Rona Fairhead to become Minister of State, replacing Lord Price.

Department for Education

Theodore Agnew to become Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, replacing Lord Nash.

Department of Health

Jonathan Van-Tam appointed as the Deputy Chief Medical officer, replacing John Watson.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport

National Heritage Memorial Fund/Heritage Lottery Fund – Jim Dixon reappointed as a Trustee.

Ofcom – Tim Suter appointed to the Board.

Natural History Museum – Lord Green of Hurstpierpoint reappointed as trustee.

Ministry of Defence

Defence Equipment and Support – Tony Doulas to stand down as Chief Executive at the end of the year.

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

UK Research and Innovation – John Kingman, Fiona Driscoll, Mustafa Suleyman, Peter Bazalgette, Julia Black, Leszek Borysiewicz, Lord Browne of Madingley, Harpal Kumar, Max Lu, Ian Diamond, Alice Gast, Vivienne Parry, Lord Willetts and Sally Davies appointed as non-executive members of the board.

Competition Service Board – Peter Freeman appointed and Susan Scholefield reappointed to the board.

Department for Exiting the European Union

Antony Phillipson stood down as Director of Trade and Partnerships.


Northern Ireland Green Party

Clare Bailey stepped down as Deputy Leader.

Devolved Authorities:

Welsh Government

Welsh Revenue Authority (starting from April 2018) – Dyfed Alsop appointed as the first Chief Executive; David Jones, Lakshmi Narain, Jocelyn Davies, Dyfed Edwards and Martin Warren appointed as members of the board.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 28th September

Highland Council – Alasdair Rhind elected for Tain and Easter Ross – Independent gain from Liberal Democrat.

Durham Council – Jude Grant elected for Trimdon and Thornley – Labour hold.

Lancaster Council - Kevin Frea elected for Halton-with-Aughton – Labour gain from Independent.

Harrogate Council – Victoria Oldham elected for Washburn – Conservative hold.

Barnsley Council - Joanne Murray elected for Kingstone – Labour hold.

East Staffordshire Council – Dale Spedding elected for Stretton – Conservative hold.

Northampton Council – Paul Joyce elected for Eastfield – Labour hold.

Northampton Council – Luke Graystone elected for Nene Valley – Conservative hold.

Breckland Council – Mike Brindle elected for Thetford Priory – Labour gain from Conservative.

St Edmunsbury Council – Mike Chester elected for Chedburgh – Conservative hold.

St Edmunsbury Council – Mary Evans elected for Hundon – Conservative hold.

Harlow Council – Tony Edwards elected for Toddbrook – Labour hold.



Hume Brophy - James Wharton joined as Senior Adviser.

Interest Groups

Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations - Martin Sime to retire as Chief Executive in December.

Bond – Caroline Nursey elected as Chair, replacing Tim Wainwright.

Bowel Cancer UK – Lowri Griffiths appointed as the first Head of Wales.

Shelter – Greg Beales joined as Director of Communications, Policy and Campaigns.

Charity Finance Group – Simon Hopkins, Arati Patel and Liz Fozury appointed as trustees, replacing Diane Bassett, Kevin Barnes and Ian Theodoreson.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.