New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
9th February 2018

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony has moved from being non-affiliated to crossbench.

House of Commons

Welsh Affairs Committee – Thelma Walker discharged and Susan Elan Jones appointed as a member.

Transport Committee – Laura Smith discharged and Grahame Morris appointed as a member.

Public Accounts Committee – Andrew Jones discharged and Robert Jenrick appointed as a member.

Justice Committee – Laura Pidcock discharged and Marie Rimmer appointed as a member.

Home Affairs Committee – Preet Kaur Gill discharged and John Woodcock appointed as a member.

Communities and Local Government Committee – Fiona Onasanya discharged Matt Western appointed as a member.

High Speed Rail (West Midlands – Crewe) Bill Select Committee - James Duddridge, Sandy Martin, Sheryll Murray, Martin Whitfield and Bill Wiggin named as members.


Government Departments:

Home Office

Police Remuneration Review Body - Monojit Chatterji appointed as a member.

National Crime Agency Remuneration Review Body - Monojit Chatterji appointed as a member.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Frank Baker has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to Libya in succession to Peter Millett.

HM Treasury

Financial Policy Committee - Donald Kohn and Martin Taylor reappointed to the committee.

Department for International Trade

Antony Phillipson appointed as HM Trade Commissioner for North America, Crispin Simon for South Asia and Richard Burn for China.

UK Export Finance - Richard Simon-Lewis appointed as Head of Origination, Client Coverage, Marketing and Communications, Adam Harris as Head of Civil, Infrastructure and Energy and Andy Blacksell as Head of Underwriting Policy and Products.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

UK Research and Innovation - Tony Harper has been appointed as Director, Faraday Battery Challenge, starting in April.

Department for Transport

Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency – Julie Lennard to become interim Chief Executive on 19th March.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Theatres Trust – Tim Eyles reappointed as Chair of the Board.

Horniman Museum – Eve Saloman reappointed as Chair of the Board.

Historic Royal Palaces - Jane Kennedy and David Cannadine reappointed as trustees.

Attorney General's Office

Treasury Counsel - Tom Little and Julian Evans have been appointed as Senior Treasury Counsel to the Crown and Joel Smith, Jonathan Polnay and Paul Jarvis have been appointed as Junior Treasury Counsel to the Crown.


Local Government and Social Care Ombudsman – Deep Sagar and Stephen Perkins appointed as members to the governing board Commission for Local Administration in England.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Government

Police Scotland – Phil Gormley resigned as Chief Constable.

National Assembly for Wales

Jack Sargeant (Labour) elected as the new AM for Alyn and Deeside.


Local Authorities:

By-election Results 8th February

Eden Council – Robin Orchard elected for Hartside – Conservative hold.

Staffordshire Council – Bob Spencer elected for Codsall – Conservative hold.

South Staffordshire Council – Bob Spencer elected for Codsall South – Conservative hold.

East Staffordshire Council – Vicki Gould elected for Stretton – Conservative hold.

Brighton and Hove Council – Nancy Platts elected for East Brighton – Labour hold.

Weymouth and Portland Council – Katherine Garcia elected for Tophill East – Conservative gain from Independent.

Weymouth and Portland Council – Kerry Baker elected for Tophill West – Conservative hold.


Interest Groups

International Financial Reporting Standards Foundation – Lee White to become Executive Director in April.

Medaille Trust – Garry Smith appointed as Chief Executive.

Cruse Bereavement Care – Steven Wibberley appointed as Chief Executive.

Victim Support – Diana Fawcett to replaced Mark Castle as Chief Executive.


Legal & General Assurance Society Ltd - Henrietta Baldock to become Non-Executive Chair on 6th March.

Network Rail – Mark Carne to stand down as Chief Executive.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.