New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
20th April 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

PA Images

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Joint Committee on the Draft Health Service Safety Investigations Bill - Bernard Jenkin, David Jones, Diana Johnson, Andrew Selous, Philippa Whitford and Paul Williams appointed as members of this new committee.


Government Departments:

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Treasure Valuation Committee – Gail Boyle appointed as a Trustee.

Royal Parks – Richard Hamilton appointed as a Trustee.

National Museums Liverpool – Andrew McCluskey and Philip Price reappointed as Trustees.

Ministry of Justice

Judicial Appointments Commission - Brie Stevens-Hoare and Sarah Lee appointed as Professional Commissioners and Anuja Dhir as a Circuit Judge Commissioner.

Cabinet Office

Helen MacNamara to become Director-General, Propriety and Ethics, replacing Sue Gray in May.

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Holocaust Memorial Foundation – Eric Pickles and Ed Balls appointed as Co-Chairs, replacing Peter Bazalgette.

Department for Transport

Highways England - Kathryn Cearns appointed as a Non-Executive Director.

Ministry of Justice

HM Courts & Tribunals Service – Tim Parker to replace Robert Ayling as Chair on 27th April.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Nuclear Decommissioning Authority – Lorraine Baldry to become Chair of Sellafield Ltd on 1st May.

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service – Anne Davies joined the Council as an independent member, and Susan Jordan and Jayne Haines as employer representatives.



UK Independence Party

Gerard Batten elected unopposed as Leader.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee - Gil Paterson appointed to replace Kate Forbes as a member.

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee - David Torrance appointed to replace Kate Forbes as a member.

Justice Committee - Jenny Gilruth appointed to replace Fulton MacGregor as a member.



Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee - Kate Forbes appointed to replace Fulton MacGregor as a member.

Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee - Tom Arthur appointed to replace David Torrance as a member.

Equalities and Human Rights Committee - Fulton MacGregor appointed to replace David Torrance as a member.

Economy, Jobs and Fair Work Committee - Fulton MacGregor to replace Tom Arthur as a member.

Health and Sport Committee - Kate Forbes appointed to replace Jenny Gilruth as a member.


Local Authorities:

Preston Council - Adrian Phillips to become interim Chief Executive on 19th May when Lorraine Norris retires.

Milton Keynes Council – Carole Mills to resign as Chief Executive.

Derby Council – Carole Mills to become Chief Executive.

Midlothian Council – Kenneth Lawrie to resign as Chief Executive.

Falkirk Council – Kenneth Lawrie to become Chief Executive in August, replacing Mary Pitcaithly.

Northamptonshire County Council – Damon Lawrenson to stand down as interim Chief Executive next week, and will be replaced by Andrew Quince also on an interim basis.

By-election Results 19th April

West Berkshire Council – Jeff Brooks elected for Thatcham West – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Nick Goodes disqualified).

Warrington Council – Anna Fradgley elected for Lymm South – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Sheila Woodyatt died).

Perth and Kinross Council – John Duff elected for Highland – Conservative hold. (Ian Campbell died).



Trade Associations

Recruitment and Employment Confederation – Neil Carberry to become Chief Executive on 25th June.


Global Counsel – Nicola Blackwood to become Senior Adviser.

Social Communications – Rob Luke joined as Director of Operations and External Affairs.

Blackstock Consulting – Harriet Shone to join as Director.

Interest Groups

World Food Programme – Tim Hunter becomes Deputy Director.

Save the Children International – Alan Parker stood down as Chair.

Action for Children – Julie Bentley to become Chief Executive on 1st August.

Citizens UK – Matthew Bolton promoted to Executive Director from September, replacing Neil Jameson.

Turn2Us – Simon Hopkins to stand down as Chief Executive in the summer.

RNIB - Eliot Lyne appointed as interim Chief Executive.


Royal Mail – Rico Back to become Chief Executive in June, replacing Moya Greene.

Mothercare – Clive Whiley became interim Executive Chair.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.