New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
16th February 2018

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

The Palace of Westminster

Government Departments:

Department of Health and Social Care

Operations and Information Directorate, NHS England - Simon Eccles to replace Keith McNeil as Chief Clinical Information Officer.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Geffrye Museum Board – Samir Shah reappointed as Chair.

Gambling Commission – Carol Brady appointed as a Commissioner.

UK Sport - Anne Panter appointed as a member of the board.

Wallace Collection - Ashok Roy, Kate de Rothschild-Agius and Tim Schroder reappointed as Trustees.

Advisory Council on National Records and Archives - Moira Andrews, Liz Copper, Peter Gooderham and John Wood named as members.

Imperial War Museum - Hugh Bullock and Andrew Figgures appointed as Trustees.

Home Office

Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs – Richard Stevenson, Harry Shapiro, Ann Sullivan, Rosalie Weetman, Derek Tracy, Simon Thomas, Hilary Hamnet and Lawrence Gibbons appointed as members.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Radioactive Waste Management - Malcolm Morley appointed as Chair.


Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

External Affairs and Additional Legislation Committee – Jack Sargeant replaced Dawn Bowden as member.

Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee – Jack Sargeant replaced Mick Antoniw as member.

Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee - Jack Sargeant replaced Lee Waters as member.

Scottish Government

Creative Scotland - Robert Wilson appointed as Chair, replacing interim Chair Ben Thomson.


Local Authorities:

Slough Borough Council – Nigel Pallace to become interim Chief Executive on 19th February.

By-election Results 15th February

Northamptonshire County Council – Jason Smithers elected for Higham Ferrers – Conservative hold.

East Northamptonshire Council – Harriet Pentland elected for Higham Ferrers Lancaster – Conservative hold.

North Norfolk Council – Saul Penfold elected for Worstead – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.

Tendring Council – Sue Honeywood elected for St Pauls – Conservative gain from UKIP.

Epsom and Ewell Council – Alex Coley elected for Ruxley – Residents Association hold.

West Oxfordshire Council – Michele Mead elected for Carterton South – Conservative hold.

Teignbridge Council - Lorraine Evans elected for Chudleigh – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.

Teignbridge Council – Martin Wrigley elected for Dawlish Central and North East – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative.

North East Derbyshire Council – Dick Marriott elected for Grassmoor – Labour hold.

Doncaster Council – Frank Tyas elected for Armthorpe – Labour hold.

York Council – Kallum Taylor elected for Holgate – Labour hold.

Halton Council – Christopher Carlin elected for Halton Castle – Labour hold.

Lancashire Council – Stuart Morris elected for Morecambe North – Conservative hold.

Falkirk Council – Niall Coleman elected for Bonnybridge and Larbert – SNP hold.



Trade Associations

Chartered Institute of Procurement & Supply- Malcolm Harrison to replace Gerry Walsh as Chief Executive in July.

Association of British Insurers – Clive Bannister joined the Board.


Financial Services Compensation Scheme – Marshall Bailey to replace Lawrence Churchill as Chair from April.

Interest Groups

Oxfam – Penny Lawrence resigned as Deputy Chief Executive.


Cratus - Stephen Dorrell joined as a part-time Associate.


Bayer - Neil Gadhok appointed as Head of Healthcare Government Affairs.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.