New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
5th December 2017

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Steyn (crossbench, life peer) died on 28th November.

House of Commons

Regulatory Reform Committee – Stephen McPartland elected as Chair.


Government Departments:

Department for Work and Pensions

Social Security Advisory Committee – David Chrimes and Philip Jones appointed as members, and Seyi Obakin reappointed.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Philip Malone appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to Mongolia, taking up his position in March.

Karen Pierce appointed as UK Permanent Representative to the United Nations.

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Central Arbitration Committee – Stephen Redmon appointed as Chair, replacing Michael Burton.

Ministry of Defence

Defence Science and Technology Laboratory – Gary Aitkenhead appointed as Chief Executive.

Department of Health

Kate Lampard, Sue Bailey, Ron Kerr, Michael Mire and Mike Richards appointed as Non-Executive Directors of the board.

NHS Improvement - Ian Dalton appointed as Chief Executive.

Department for Transport

Driver and Vehicle Standards Agency – Ian Baulch-Jones appointed as Non-Executive Director.

Ministry of Justice

Judicial Appointments Commission – Anne Rafferty appointed as a Senior Judicial Commissioner and Vice-Chair.

Department for Culture, Media and Sport

Office for Civil Society – David Knott appointed as Director.

Non-Ministerial Departments

HM Revenue & Customs – Jim Harra appointed as the Second Permanent Secretary from January.


Liberal Democrats

Nick Harvey appointed as Chief Executive.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee – Clare Haughey named as Convener.

Social Security Committee – Clare Adamson named as Convener.

Scottish Government

Ainsley Mann, Wendy Alexander, Martyn O’Reilly and Nick Maclean appointed as trade envoys.

Local Authorities:

Newcastle-under-Lyme Borough Council – John Sellgren suspended as Chief Executive.

By-election Results 30th November

Maidstone Council – Rob Field elected for North – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. Tandridge Council - Helen Rujbally elected for Westway – Liberal Democrat hold.

Gosport Council – Stephen Hammond elected for Bridgemary North – Liberal Democrat gain from Labour.

Torridge Council – Cheryl Cottle-Hunkin elected for Torrington – Liberal Democrat gain from UKIP.


Trade Associations

Chartered Institute for the Management of Sport and Physical Activity – Marc Woods appointed as Chair.

NHS Providers - Saffron Cordery to become Deputy Chief Executive, in addition to her role as Director of Policy and Strategy.


Civil Aviation Authority – Richard Moriarty to replace Andrew Haines as Chief Executive next summer.


Social Communications – Andrew Cumpsty joined as Senior Counsel.

Interest Groups

Wise Group – Sean Duffy appointed as the new Chief Executive, replacing Laurie Russell.

Youth Music – YolanDa Brown appointed as Chair of the Trustee Board.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.