New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
5th November 2018

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

PA Images

Houses of Parliament
House of Commons 
Transport Committee – Ruth Cadbury replaced Luke Pollard as a member.
Treasury Committee – Colin Clark replaced Alister Jack as a member.
Government Departments
Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport 
Tracey Crouch resigned as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Sport and Civil Society.
Ofcom – Sophie Morgan appointed to the Content Board.

Ministry of Justice 
Parole Board – Carole Corby became Chair, having been in the role on an interim basis.

Department for Transport 
Accident Investigation Branches: Tri-Branch Management Board - Richard Frank Garwood appointed as Chair.
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy 
Met Office Board - Hunada Nouss appointed as a Non-Executive Director.
Financial Reporting Council – Stephen Haddrill to step down as Chief Executive in late 2019.

Department for Education 
Social Mobility Commission - Alastair da Costa, Liz Williams, Farrah Storr, Harvey Matthewson, Jessica Oghenegweke, Jody Walker, Pippa Dunn, Saeed Atcha, Sam Friedman, Sammy Wright, Sandra Wallace and Steven Cooper appointed as Social Mobility Commissioners.

Department for International Trade 
UK Trade Remedies Authority – Claire Basset appointed as Chief Executive and David Wright as Chair for forthcoming new body.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Crown Prosecution Service -  Max Hill took up the role of Director of Public Prosecutions.

HM Revenue & Customs – Alan Evans appointed as General Counsel and Solicitor, starting in January 2019.

Devolved Authorities

Scottish Parliament 
Public Audit and Post-Legislative Scrutiny Committee – Anas Sarwar replaced Iain Gray as a member.
Education and Skills Committee – Iain Gray replaced Mary Fee as a member.
Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee – Mary Fee replaced Neil Findlay as a member.
Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee – Rhoda Grant replaced Alex Rowley as a member.

Welsh Government 
Welsh Food Advisory Committee - Philip Hollington and Rebecca Lyne-Pirkis appointed as members.
Natural Resources Wales - Catherine Brown, Steve Ormerod, Julia Cherrett, Rosie Plummer and Peter Rigby appointed as members of the Board.
Local Authorities
Lewisham Council – Ian Thomas to stand down as Chief Executive at the end of the year.
North Somerset Council – Jo Walker to become Chief Executive in January, replacing Helen Bailey.
By-election Results 1 st November 
Kirklees Council –Will Simpson elected for Denby Dale – Labour gain from Conservative. (Billy Jewitt resigned).
South Gloucestershire Council - Louise Harris elected for Dodington – Liberal Democrat hold. (Gloria Stephen died).
Newham Council – Moniba Khan elected for Boleyn – Labour hold. (Veronica Oakeshott resigned).

Interest Groups 

Social Enterprise Scotland – Chris Martin to become Chief Executive.
Marie Curie – Matthew Reed appointed Chief Executive, replacing Jane Collins in 2019.

Think Tanks 

NPC - Vaughan Lindsay to replace Richard Atterbury in early 2019.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.