Login to access your account

Mon, 1 June 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
By Rosie Duffield MP, Neil Coyle MP and Bob Blackman MP
By Westminster Briefing
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Dods People

4 min read Member content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Details of government resignations and any future appointments here:


Government Departments:

Ministry of Justice

Peter Clarke has been reappointed as Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Prisons.

Cabinet Office

The Government Equalities Office will move to the Cabinet in April.

Home Office

Jo Johnson resigned as Minister for London.

Nick Hurd appointed as Minister for London (while continuing as Minister of State for Policing and the Fire Service).

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service – Susan Clews announced as the new Chief Executive, replacing Anne Sharp in December.

Department for Transport

Jo Johnson resigned as Minister of State.

Jesse Norman appointed as Minister of State, previously Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, and Andrew Jones as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

National Portrait Gallery - Marcus Harling, Professor Shearer West and Jonathan Yeo appointed as Trustees.

Royal Armouries - Hemant Patel appointed as Chair on an interim basis.

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Homes England – Duncan Sutherland appointed to the Board.



Scottish Conservatives

Maurice Golden became Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Climate Change, Environment and Land Reform, previously Spokesperson for the Low Carbon Economy; continues as Chief Whip.

Michelle Ballantyne became Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Communities and Social Security, previously Shadow Cabinet Secretary Social Security.

Donald Cameron became Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Rural Economy and Connectivity, previously Shadow Cabinet Secretary for Change, Environment and Land Reform.

Alexander Burnett became Deputy Chief Whip, continues as Shadow Minister for Business, Innovation and Energy.

Jamie Halcro Johnston became Shadow Minister for Jobs, Employability and Skills, previously Shadow Minister for Jobs, Employability and Training.

Brian Whittle became Shadow Minister for Sport and Wellbeing, previously Shadow Minister for Health Education, Lifestyle and Sport.

Peter Chapman became Shadow Minister for Fishing (not in a position before).

Edward Mountain became Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs and the Islands, previously Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs.

Jeremy Balfour became Shadow Minister for Welfare, Disability and Older People , previously Shadow Minister for Welfare Reform.

Graham Simpson became Shadow Minister for Housing and Planning, previously Shadow Minister for Housing and Communities.

Alexander Stewart became Shadow Minister for Local Government, International Development and Migration, previously Shadow Minister for Local Government.

Gordon Lindhurst became Shadow Minister for Trade, Investment and Legal Affairs, previously Shadow Minister for Legal Affairs.

Alison Harris became Shadow Minister for Children and Young People, previously Shadow Minister for Tourism and Small Business.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Local Government and Communities Committee – Alex Rowley replaced Monica Lennon as a member.


Local Authorities:

By-election Results 15th November

Kent County Council – Robert Thomas elected for Canterbury North – Conservative hold. (John Simmonds died).

Oxfordshire County Council – Jane Hanna elected for Grove and Wantage - Liberal Democrat hold. (Zoe Patrick resigned).

Stroud Council – Trevor Hall elected for Dursley – Labour hold. (Alison Hayward resigned).

Bassetlaw Council – Matthew Callingham elected for East Retford West – Labour hold. (Alan Chambers disqualified for non-attendance).



Interest Groups

Cancer Research UK – Michelle Mitchell started work as Chief Executive.

Resource Alliance – Kyla Shawyer to stand down as Chief Executive.

Scope – Mark Hodgkinson to become Chief Executive in January.

Small Charities Coalition – Angela Style appointed as interim Chief Executive.

Turn2us – Thomas Lawson appointed as Chief Executive.

Spinal Injuries Association – Nik Hartley to become Chief Executive in January.


MHP – Tom Hamilton joined the team as an Associate Director.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.


Associated Organisation
Westminster Briefing
The Building Regulations and Fire Safety Conference

Your chance to explore first-hand what solutions are being put in place to meet challenges in building and fire safety

Find out more