New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
25th March 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

The Palace of Westminster

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Macdonald of River Glaven has moved from non-affiliated to crossbench.

House of Commons

Foreign Affairs Committee - Ian Austin and Mike Gapes discharged and Conor McGinn and Catherine West added as members (this did not end up going through last week, but succeeded on Tuesday 19th).

Procedure Committee – Dan Carden discharged and Gareth Snell added as a member.


Government departments:

Ministry of Justice

Judicial Appointments Commission - Lord Ajay Kakkar reappointed as Chair.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Sports Grounds Safety Authority – Susan Johnson, Philip Kolvin and David Mackinnon appointed as board members.

Imperial War Museum - Amjad Hussain, Tamsin Todd and Matthew Westerman reappointed as Trustees.

Historic England – Michael Morrison reappointed as a Commissioner.

HM Treasury

Will Garton to become Director, Public Services.

Olaf Henricson-Bell to replace Will Garton as Press Secretary.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Environment Agency – Emma Howard Boyd reappointed as Chair.

Department for Health and Social Care

Michael Brady appointed as National Adviser for LGBT Health in the NHS.


Local Authorities:

Dudley Council – Sarah Norman to stand down as Chief Executive in the summer.

Merseyside Police and Crime Commissioner – PCC Jane Kennedy resigned from the Labour Party.

By-election Results 8th November

Thurrock Council - David Van Day elected for Aveley and Uplands – Conservative gain from Thurrock Independents. (Tim Aker MEP resigned).

Basildon Council – Aidan McGurran elected for Vange – Labour hold. (Kayte Block resigned).

Southend-on-Sea Council – Stephen George elected for Milton – Labour hold. (Julian Ware-Lane died).

Kensington and Chelsea Council – Kasim Ali elected for Dalgarno – Labour hold. (Robert Thompson resigned).

Newcastle-under-Lyme Council – Kenneth Owen elected for Holditch and Chesterton – Independent gain from Labour. (Chris Spence resigned).

Durham Council – Beverley Coult elected for Esh and Witton Gilbert – Liberal Democrat hold. (Michael McGaun resigned).




Interest Groups

Child Helpline International - Patrick Krens appointed as Executive Director, starting in April.

Save the Children UK - Gemma Sherrington named as Fundraising Director.


Legal & General Group - Steve Ellis has been appointed as Chief Executive of Legal & General Retail Retirement Living Solutions and Claire Singleton appointed as Chief Executive of Legal & General Home Finance.

Royal Mail Group – Keith Williams to succeed Les Owen as Chair in May.

Trade Associations

Confederation of British Industries – Isabel Dedring to succeed Vivian Hunt as Chair, CBI London Council and Judith Everett to become Deputy Chair.

Universities UK – Julia Buckingham elected as President, replacing Janet Beer from August.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service.