Fri, 7 October 2022

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Gender recognition reform: Britain's governments must work together to minimise uncertainties Partner content
Home affairs
Home affairs
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

PA Images

Imogen Spencer-Dale | Dods People

2 min read

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Gerald Grimstone and Stephen Greenhalgh to become Conservative peers.

House of Commons

Liaison Committee – Bernard Jenkin appointed as Chair.


Departments of State:

Gerald Grimstone appointed as a Minister of State at the Department for International trade and the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Stephen Greenhalgh appointed as a Minister of State at the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government and the Home Office.

Ministry of Justice

Children and Family Court Support Service - Helen Jones, Eileen Munro and Rohan Sivanandan have been appointed as members of the board.

Department for Health and Social Care

National Institute for Health and Care Excellence - Gillian Leng appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Andrew Dillon on 1st April.

Home Office

Matthew Rycroft became Permanent Secretary, replacing Shona Dunn who had been in the role on an interim basis.

Migration Advisory Committee – Brian Bell became interim Chair.

Department for International Development

Nick Dyer replaced Matthew Rycroft as Permanent Secretary on an interim basis.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board – Nicholas Saphir appointed as Chair from April, replacing Peter Kendall.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

British Film Institute - Pat Butler reappointed as Governor.

Horseracing Betting Levy Board – Lord Risby reappointed as a board member.

Department for Education

Student Loans Company - Peter Lauener appointed as Chair, replacing Andrew Wathey who was in the role on an interim basis.


Devolved Authorities:

Welsh Assembly

Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee - Helen Mary Jones replaced Bethan Sayed as Chair on a temporary basis.

Scottish Parliament

Justice Sub-committee on Policing - Shona Robison replaced Jenny Gilruth as a member.

Northern Ireland Assembly

Committee for Health - Pat Sheehan replaced Jemma Dolan.

Committee for Justice - Jemma Dolan replaced Pat Sheehan.

Northern Ireland Government

South Eastern Health and Social Care Trust Board - Maura Briscoe and Maynard Mawhinney reappointed as Non-executive Lay Directors, and Noel Brady as a Non-executive Finance Director.

Welsh Government

National Infrastructure Commission for Wales - John Lloyd Jones to continue as interim Chair.


Local Authorities:

By-election Result 19th March

Coventry council – Gurdev Singh Hayre elected for Upper Stoke – Labour hold (caused by the death of Sucha Singh Bains).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at [email protected]


Network Rail - Charlene Wallace joined Director for National Passenger and Customer Experience.

HSBC – Noel Quinn appointed as Chief Executive, having been in the role on an interim basis.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.

Read the most recent article written by Imogen Spencer-Dale - New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs


Home affairs