Login to access your account

Fri, 14 August 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Home affairs
New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs Member content
Home affairs
Press releases
By Hft

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Dods People

3 min read Member content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Moonie resigned from Labour and now sits as non-affiliated.

House of Commons

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Andrew Murrison resigned as Chair, elections to replace him will be held on 12th June.

Environmental Audit Committee – Derek Thomas replaced Colin Clark as a member.

Health and Social Care Committee – Angela Crawley replaced Philippa Whitford as a member.


Government Departments:

Department for International Development

Independent Commission for Aid Impact – Hugh Bayley and Tarek Rouchdy to become part-time Commissioners from July.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Nigel Dakin appointed Governor of the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Deborah Bronnert CMG has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Russian Federation in January 2020.

Home Office

Simon Hoare stood down as Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Home Secretary.

Edward Day appointed as the Drug Recovery Champion.

Northern Ireland Office

John Larkin reappointed as Attorney General for Northern Ireland.

Ministry of Justice

Vera Baird appointed as new Victims’ Commissioner, replacing Baroness Newlove in June.


Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

David Rowlands resigned from the UKIP group.

Mark Reckless resigned from the Conservatives.

Gareth Bennett no longer Leader of UKIP group.

Mark Reckless, Caroline Jones, Mandy Jones and David Rowlands requested to form a Brexit Party political group.

Northern Ireland Assembly

Maoliosa McHugh replaced Michaela Boyle as a Sinn Féin MLA in West Tyrone.


Local Authorities:

Stockport Council – Alex Ganotis stood down as Council Leader.

South Oxfordshire Council - Sue Cooper has replaced Jane Murphy as Council Leader.

East Cambridgeshire Council – Charles Roberts stood down as Council Leader.

Dorset Council – Spencer Flower named as the first Council Leader.

Somerset West and Taunton Council - Federica Smith named as the first Council Leader.





If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade Associations

Construction Products Association – Peter Caplehorn promoted to Interim Chief Executive.

Chartered Institute of Building – Caroline Gumble appointed as Chief Executive.

Interest Groups

Royal Society for the Protection of Birds – Beccy Speight to become Chief Executive.

UPP Foundation – Jon Wakeford appointed as Chair of the Board of Trustees.

Sported – Nicola Walker to replace Chris Grant as Chief Executive.

Breast Cancer Haven – Sally Hall to become Chief Executive.

Sentebale – Richard Miller named as the new Chief Executive.

ActionAid UK – Jillian Popkins appointed as Director of Policy, Advocacy and Programmes.

Christian Aid – Nick Georgiadis named as Director of Fundraising and Supporter Engagement and Patrick Watt as Director of Policy, Public Affairs and Campaigns.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. 


Political parties
Associated Organisation
Related Event
NHS Parliamentary Awards

The NHS Parliamentary Awards sponsored by Fujifilm are a chance for all MPs in England to celebrate the outstanding care they and their constituents receive.

Find out more