Wed, 28 September 2022

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Home affairs
How Jersey Adds Value to the Global Economy Partner content
By Jersey Finance
Home affairs
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Imogen Spencer-Dale | Dods People

4 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


All details of the new government are still being updated here, as announcements are made of further details of ministerial responsibilities and appointments of Parliamentary Private Secretaries. 


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Steel left the Liberal Democrats and now sits as non-affiliated and will retire from the House of Lords.

Lord Brennan was previously Labour and now sits as non-affiliated.


Departments of State:

Home Office

Abi Tierney has been appointed as the new Director General of Her Majesty’s Passport Office and UK Visas and Immigration, replacing Mark Thomson in March.

Northern Ireland Office

Equality Commission for Northern Ireland - Geraldine McGahey named as the new Chief Commissioner, Neil Anderson as Deputy Chief Commissioner, and Duane Farrell, Helen Ferguson, Jarlath Kearney, Deepa Mann-Kler and Carmel McKinney as Commissioners.

HM Treasury

National Infrastructure Commission – James Heath to become Chief Executive in May.

Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy

Fiona Dickie has been named as the new Pubs Code Adjudicator from May.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Ofgem - Myriam Madden confirmed as Non-Executive Director and Chair of the Audit Committee.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Culture, Tourism and External Affairs Committee - Gordon Lindhurst replaced Alexander Stewart and Oliver Mundell replaced Donald Cameron as a member.

Delegated Powers and Law Reform Committee - Gil Paterson replaced Tom Arthur, Bill Bowman replaced Graham Simpson and Gordon Lindhurst replaced Jeremy Balfour as a member.

Economy, Energy and Fair Work Committee - Alison Harris replaced Jamie Halcro Johnston and Michelle Ballantyne replaced Gordon Lindhurst as a member.

Education and Skills Committee - Alex Neil replaced Jenny Gilruth, Jamie Halcro Johnston replaced Alison Harris and Jamie Greene replaced Liz Smith as a member.

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee - Annie Wells replaced Rachael Hamilton as a member.

Equalities and Human Rights Committee - Maurice Golden replaced Oliver Mundell and Alison Harris replaced Annie Wells as a member.

Finance Committee - George Adam replaced Gordon MacDonald and Donald Cameron replaced Adam Tomkins as a member.

Justice Committee - Alasdair Allan replaced Jenny Gilruth as a member.

Local Government and Communities Committee - Jeremy Balfour replaced Alexander Stewart as a member.

Public Petitions Committee - Tom Mason replaced Brian Whittle as a member.

Rural Economy and Connectivity Committee - Rachael Hamilton replaced Jamie Greene as a member.

Social Security Committee - Tom Arthur replaced Alasdair Allan and Graham Simpson replaced Michelle Ballantyne as a member.

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee - Alexander Stewart replaced Tom Mason as a member.


Local Authorities:

Shropshire Council – Clive Wright stood down as Chief Executive.

Southwark Council - Peter John to stand down as Leader towards the end of March.

Wirral Council - Pat Hackett to stand down as Leader this year.

Hastings Borough Council – Kim Forward named as the new Leader, replacing Peter Chowney next month.

By-election Results 27th February

Hillingdon council – Colleen Sullivan elected for Hillingdon East – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Pat Jackson).

Cambridgeshire council – Peter McDonald elected for Duxford – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative (caused by the resignation of Peter Topping).

South Cambridgeshire council – Richard Williams elected for Whittlesford – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Peter Topping).

Blaby council – Nick Brown elected for Millfield – Labour hold (caused by the death Bill Wright).

Manchester City council – Kenneth Dobson elected for Clayton and Opsnehaw – Independent gain (caused by the death of Labour councillor Andy Harland).

Cheshire East council – Laura Smith elected for Crewe South – Labour hold (caused by the death of Dorothy Flude).

Wrexham council – Phil Rees elected for Gwersyllt North – Plaid Cymru gain from Independent (caused by the resignation of Barrie Warburton).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at [email protected]

Interest Groups

Stonewall Housing - Steven McIntyre to replace Bob Green as Chief Executive in March.

Trade Associations

Betting and Gaming Council - Kevin Schofield to become Director of Communications and Digital.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.

Read the most recent article written by Imogen Spencer-Dale - New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs


Home affairs