Wed, 28 September 2022

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Home affairs
How Jersey Adds Value to the Global Economy Partner content
By Jersey Finance
Home affairs
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Imogen Spencer-Dale | Dods People

4 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:
House of Commons
Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee – Paul Howell has replaced John Howell as a member.
European Scrutiny Committee – Margaret Ferrier joined as a member.
Finance Committee – Sir Geoffrey Brown and Dame Elanor Laing replace Nigel Mills and Sir Robert Syms as members. Tommy Shephard joins as a member.
Procedure Committee – Anthony Mangnall replaces Dr Kieran Mullan as a member.
Joint Committee on Consolidation, &c, Bills – Duncan Baker, Simon Baynes, Elliot Colburn, Chris Elmore, Imran Hussein, Simon Jupp, Conor McGinn, Grahame Morris, Jane Stevenson, Julian Sturdy and Suzanne Webb join as members.
Work of the Independent Commission for Aid Impact Sub-committee – Theo Clarke appointed as chair. Richard Bacon, Sarah Champion, Kate Osamor and Dan Poulter have been appointed as members. Chris law has been reappointed.

Departments of State:
Home Office
Christine Elliott appointed interim Chair of the College of Policing, replacing outgoing chair Millie Banerjee CBE.
Cabinet Office
Lord Pickles has been announced as the government’s preferred candidate as the chair of the Advisory Committee on Business Appointments (ACOBA).
Prime Minister’s Office
Reverend Doctor Andrew Neil Emerton is to succeed the Right Reverend Anthony Porter to the Suffragan See of Sherwood. Anthony Porter is due to retire on the 22 March.
Ministry of Justice
Prison Service Pay Review Body – Andrew Dickerson and Paul West have been reappointed as members for three years, until 31 July 2022.
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Office of Gas and Electricity Markets (Ofgem) – Barry Panayi to start role as Non-Executive Director on 16 March.

Devolved Authorities:
Northern Ireland Assembly
Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee – Pat Catney replaced John Dallat as a member.
Communities Committee – Fra McCann replaced Emma Sheerin as a member.
Executive Office Committee – Martina Anderson replaced Fra McCann as a member.
Justice Committee – Emma Rogan replaced Martina Anderson as a member.
Department of Justice
Northern Ireland Policing Board – Michael Atkinson, Janet Gray, Edgar Jardine, Carmel McKinney, Francis McManus and Deirdre Toner have been appointed as independent members, beginning on the 1 April 2020.

Scottish Parliament

Public Audit and Post-legislative Scrutiny Committee – Neil Bibby appointed as a member.
Audit Scotland – Stephen Boyle has been nominated to replace Caroline Gardner as Auditor General, when her term finishes at the end of June. The appointment is subject to the Queen’s formal appointment.

Local Authorities:
High Peak Borough Council - Chief Executive Simon Baker retired this week with immediate effect.
Hartlepool Council – Chief Executive Gill Alexander is to stand down later this year.
By-election Result 10th March
Wiltshire council – Kevin Daley elected for Till and Wylye Valley – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Darren Henry).
By-election Results 12th March
Ashford council – Trish Cornish elected for Park Farm North – Ashford Independent gain (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Jo Gideon).
South Somerset council – Ollie Patrick elected for Parrett – Liberal Democrat hold (caused by the resignation of Liberal Democrat councillor Tony Vaughan).
Stratford-on-Avon council – Manuela Perteghella elected for Welford-on -Avon – Liberal Democrat gain (caused by the death of Independent councillor Peter Barnes).
Highland council – Callum Munro elected for Eilean a’ Cheò – Independent gain (caused by the resignation of Independent councillor Ronald MacDonald).

If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at [email protected]

Trade Associations
British Healthcare Trade Association – Dr Simon Festing has been appointed Chief Executive.

Interest Groups
Universities UK – Dr Tony Sewell CBE, Jatin Haria and Sandra Kerr CBE have been appointed as independent expert advisors.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.

Read the most recent article written by Imogen Spencer-Dale - New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs


Home affairs