Login to access your account

Wed, 30 September 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Press releases
By Hft

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

PA Images

Dods People

4 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords       

Lord Eatwell and Lord Turnberg were Non-affiliated members and are now sitting as Labour.

Lord Mitchell was Crossbench and is now sitting as Labour.

Countess of Mar (Crossbench, hereditary peer) retired from the House of Lords on 1st May, a by-election to replace her will be held in due course.

New Sub-committees of the European Union Select Committee:

EU Environment Sub-committee - Lord Teverson appointed as Chair, Baroness Brown of Cambridge, Baroness Bryan of Partick, Baroness Byford, Lord Cameron of Dillington, Lord Carter of Coles, Lord Giddens, Baroness Jolly, Baroness McIntosh of Pickering, Duke of Montrose, Earl of Stair and Lord Young of Norwood Green as members.

EU Goods Sub-committee - Baroness Verma appointed as Chair, Lord Berkeley, Baroness Chalker of Wallasey, Lord Faulkner of Worcester, Baroness Kramer, Lord Lamont of Lerwick, Lord Lilley, Lord Russell of Liverpool, Lord Shipley, Lord Turnbull, Lord Wigley and Lord Wood of Anfield as members.

EU International Agreements Sub-committee - Lord Goldsmith appointed as Chair,

Lord Alderdice, Lord Fraser of Corriegarth, Lord Gold, Lord Kerr of Kinlochard, Lord Lansley, Baroness Liddell of Coatdyke, Lord Morris of Aberavon, Lord Oates, Lord Robathan, Earl of Sandwich and Lord Watts as members.

EU Security and Justice Sub-committee - Lord Ricketts appointed as Chair, Lord Anderson of Ipswich, Lord Anderson of Swansea, Lord Arbuthnot of Edrom, Lord Dholakia, Baroness Finn, Baroness Goudie, Baroness Hamwee, Lord Kirkhope of Harrogate, Lord Lexden, Lord Polak, Baroness Primarolo and Lord Rowlands as members.

EU Services Sub-committee - Baroness Donaghy appointed as Chair, Lord Bruce of Bennachie, Lord Cavendish of Furness, Baroness Couttie, Lord Davies of Stamford, Lord McNally, Baroness Neville-Rolfe, Baroness Prashar, Lord Sharkey, Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd, Viscount Trenchard and Lord Vaux of Harrowden as members.


Departments of State:

Prime Minister's Office

Reverend Ruth Kathleen Frances Bushyager is to succeed the Right Reverend Mark Sowerby to the Suffragan See of Horsham.

Reverend Prebendary William Peter Guy Hazlewood is to succeed to the Right Reverend Richard Jackson to the Suffragan See of Lewes.

Richard Callander appointed Lord Lieutenant for Midlothian, succeeding Robert Clerk who retired on 3rd April 2020.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Christine Tacon reappointed as the Groceries Code Adjudicator.

Nuclear Decommissioning Authority- Paul Winkle appointed Chief Operating Officer of Magnox.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Gambling Commission - Terry Babbs, Brian Bannister, Jo Hill and Martin Narey appointed as Commissioners.

Ministry for Housing, Communities and Local Government

Nickie Aiken MP appointed as Team PPS.

Department for International Trade

Trade Remedies Investigations Directorate - Claire Bassett to step down as Director Chief Executive Designate of the Trade Remedies Authority on 31st August.

Home Office

Independent Office for Police Conduct - Claire Bassett appointed Deputy Director General Operations.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Government

Nicola Steedman appointed as Interim Deputy Chief Medical Officer.

Scottish Parliament

Covid-19 Committee - Murdo Fraser appointed as Convener and Monica Lennon as Deputy Convener.

Northern Ireland Executive

Department of Justice – Michael Wardlow re-appointed Chair of the Northern Ireland Police Fund. Colin Caughey, Jonathan Craig, Alice O'Kane and Brenda Plummer have been appointed as new Board Members.

Welsh Government

Gordon Brown appointed as part of an advisory group on Covid-19 recovery.       


Local Authorities

Birmingham City Council - Chris Naylor appointed as interim Chief Executive, replacing Graeme Betts who was also in the role on an interim basis.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade Unions

GMB Union - Tim Roache has resigned as General Secretary.

Trade Associations

British Retail Consortium -Tony DeNunzio will succeed Richard Pennycook as Chair on 20th May.

National Association of Care and Support Workers - Sabina Kelly replaced Karolina Gerlich as Chief Executive Officer on 28th April.

Royal Statistical Society - Stian Westlake appointed as Chief Executive, replacing Nicola Emmerson who has been in the role on an interim basis.


Birmingham University - Professor Stephen Jarvis appointed as Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Head of the College of Engineering and Physical Sciences.


Evening Standard – Mike Soutar to stand down as Chief Executive at the end of May.


Political parties
Associated Organisation
Engineering a Better World

Can technology deliver a better society? In a new podcast series from the heart of Westminster, The House magazine and the IET discuss with parliamentarians and industry experts how technology and engineering can provide policy solutions to our changing world.

Listen now