Fri, 1 March 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Women in Westminster: In Conversation With Tulip Siddiq MP Partner content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Last week, Barry Gardiner MP was added to the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee and the Environmental Audit Committee | Credit: PA Images

Dods People

2 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

The Archbishop of York retired on 7th June.

Lord Malloch-Brown (Crossbench) took a leave of absence from 9th June.

Baroness Kennedy of Cradley has left the Labour group and now sits as non-affiliated.

New COVID-19 Committee – Chair: Baroness Lane-Fox of Soho

Member: Lord Alderdice, Baroness Benjamin, Baroness Chisholm of Owlpen, Lord Duncan of Springbank, Lord Elder, Lord Hain, Lord Harris of Haringey, Baroness Jay of Paddington, Baroness Morgan of Cotes, Lord Pickles, Baroness Young of Hornsey


House of Commons

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Committee – Mary Glindon discharged; Barry Gardiner added.

Environmental Audit Committee – Kerry McCarthy discharged; Barry Gardiner added.

International Trade Committee – Gareth Thomas discharged; Taiwo Owatemi added.

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Karin Smyth discharged; Mary Foy added.

Petitions Committee – Kerry McCarthy discharged; Tonia Antoniazzi added.


Departments of State:

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

UK Research and Innovation – Siobhan Peters appointed as Chief Finance Officer.

Ministry of Defence

Royal College of Defence Studies – Sir George Norton appointed as Commandant from 21st July.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Historic Royal Palaces – Sue Wilkinson OBE re-appointed as Trustee.

Horniman Museum – Caroline Cole, Surojit Ghosh and Nico Lacuzzi re-appointed as Trustees.

National Museums Liverpool – Heather Blyth, Paul Eccleson, Rita Mclean and Tony Wilson appointed as Trustees for three years. Isabel Chadwick appointed as Finance Trustee for four years.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Forestry Commission – Dr Hilary Allison, Professor Julian Evans and Sandy Storrie appointed as Non-Executive Commissioners for three years.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Rena Lalgie appointed as Governor of Bermuda from December 2020.

John Virgoe appointed as High Commissioner to Brunei Darussalam from August 2020.

David Belgrove OBE appointed as High Commissioner to The Gambia from July 2020.

Neil Bradley appointed as Ambassador to Liberia from July 2020.

Karen Maddocks appointed as Ambassador to Montenegro from August 2020.

Department of Health and Social Care

Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards – Professor Kevin Davies appointed as Medical Director from 1st July for 3 years.

Ministry of Justice

Civil Procedure Rule Committee – David Marshall appointed as a solicitor member.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at


BBC – Tim Davie appointed as Director-General from 1st September.


Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons Council – Professor David Argyle appointed as Junior Vice-President from 10th July.

Trade Associations

Chartered Institution of Civil Engineering Surveyors – Ann Allen appointed as Chief Executive from 1st August.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.


Political parties