Wed, 19 June 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Raising attainment and alleviating challenges in schools Partner content
Addressing the teacher recruitment and retention crisis Partner content
Press releases

University think-tank announces new Chair


2 min read Partner content

Following its Annual Meeting on 14th May, the university think-tank million+ has announced that Professor Dave Phoenix, Vice-Chancellor of London South Bank University, will become Chair of million+ from the 2015-16 academic year.

Professor Michael Gunn, Vice-Chancellor of Staffordshire University, who has served as Chair since 2013, will retain a key role as Treasurer, replacing Professor Michael Driscoll whose longstanding association with million+ as both past Chair and current Treasurer will come to an end on his retirement as Vice-Chancellor of Middlesex University.

Professor Phoenix has been Vice-Chancellor of LSBU since January 2014, having previously served as Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Central Lancashire for six years. As a leading researcher in biochemistry he currently holds visiting chairs at Kings College London as well as Sichuan University in China and is an Honorary consultant in clinical biochemistry.

Professor Phoenix said:

“I am delighted to have been given the opportunity to chair million+ which is well-placed to respond to the agenda of the new government in Westminster whilst also working with our University Members in Scotland.
“I would like to thank both Michael Gunn and Michael Driscoll for their leadership of million+ and their commitment to higher education and research. They have ensured that governments of all colours have recognised the value and benefits to individuals and the economy of supporting a world-class university system.”

In addition to the posts of Chair and Treasurer, Shirley Atkinson, interim Vice-Chancellor of Sunderland University and Professor Graham Baldwin, Vice-Chancellor of Southampton Solent University, will join Bill Rammell, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Bedfordshire, Professor Peter John, Vice-Chancellor of the University of West London and Professor Nigel Seaton, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Abertay University, on the Executive.