New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
3rd June 2019

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords
Lord Spicer (Con, life peer) passed away 29th May.

Government Departments:

Prime Minister’s Office
The Lady Dannatt MBE has been appointed as Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of the County of Norfolk in succession to Sir Richard Jewson KCVO.
Joanie Aileen Whiteford has been appointed as Her Majesty’s Lord-Lieutenant of Ross and Cromarty to succeed Janet Bowen CVO who is due to retire on the 12th July.
Professor Nabeel Hamdi and Thouria Istephan have been appointed to the Grenfell Tower Inquiry panel for Phase 2 of its work.

Cabinet Office
Government Equalities Office – The Minister for Women and Equalities has announced two co-chairs, Plan International UK and Procter & Gamble, to help lead the government’s new Period Poverty Taskforce.
Senior Salaries Review Body – Pippa Greenslade and David Sissling have been appointed as members.
UK Statistics Authority – Helen Boaden has been appointed as a non-executive board member.

Home Office
Disclosure and Barring Service – Eric Robinson, Chief Executive of Wirral Borough Council, has been announced as the new Chief Executive Officer.

Ministry of Defence
UK Hydrographic Office – Rear Admiral Tim Lowe has been appointed as the new Chief Executive and Accounting Officer.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport
Sport England Board - Chris Grant, Andy Long, Ian Cumming and Karen Pickering have been reappointed for a period of three years. Chris Grant and Andy Long’s term begins on the 9th September, Ian Cummings and Karen Pickering’s begin on the 28th October.
National Lottery Community Fund board – Lady Rachael Robathan and Natalie Campbell have been reappointed for a period of four years from 1st June.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
Financial Reporting Council – David Rule has been appointed to a newly established position as Executive Director of Supervision.
Companies House Board – Martin Spencer and Mike Fishwick have been appointed as Non-Executive Directors.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office
Robin Ord-Smith MVO has been appointed High Commissioner to the Kingdom of Tonga.
John Lindfield MBE has been appointed High Commissioner to the Kingdom of Eswatini.
Patrick Lynch has been appointed High Commissioner to the Republic of Seychelles.
Nicola Pollitt has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal.
Sarah Dickson has been appointed High Commissioner to the Commonwealth of The Bahamas.

HM Treasury
Bank of England – Ben Broadbent has been reappointed for a further term, starting 1 July. Three new non-executive directors have also been appointed, Rohinton (Ron) Kalifa OBE, Frances O’Grady and Hanneke Smits. Their four-year terms begin on the 1 June.

Government’s Actuary’s Department
Martin Clarke will continue his role as Principal actuarial adviser for a further five-year term.

Northern Ireland Office
Police Service of Northern Ireland – Simon Byrne has been appointed as the new Chief Constable.

Labour – Peter Willsman, a member of Labour’s ruling body the NEC, has been suspended.
Scottish Labour – Neil Findlay resigned from the Labour frontbench as business manager, party liaison and spokesperson on constitutional relations.
Daniel Johnson stood down as justice spokesperson.
Liberal Democrats – Catherine Bearder has been elected as the leader of the Liberal Democrats in the European Parliament.

Devolved Authorities:
Welsh Government
Design Commission for Wales – Gayna Jones has been reappointed as chair. Elinor Gray-Williams, Fiona Nixon and Ian Carter have been reappointed as board members for a further four years. Trevor Skempton has been reappointed as a board member for a further year.

Local Authorities

By election Result 30th May

Gosport Borough Council – Siobhan Mitchell elected for Brockhurst – Liberal Democrat hold (due to the death of Liberal Democrat councillor Austin Hicks).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at  

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service