New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
29th January 2018

Dods People draws together a list of last week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

The Palace of Westminster

Parliamentary Private Secretary appointments:


Prime Minister, First Lord of the Treasury and Minister for the Civil Service Theresa May -

George Hollingbery and Seema Kennedy.

HM Treasury

Chancellor of the Exchequer Philip Hammond - Kwasi Kwarteng.

Ministerial team - Scott Mann.

Home Office

Secretary of State for the Home Department and Minister for Women and Equalities Amber Rudd - Ed Argar.

Minister of State Caroline Nokes - David Morris.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs Boris Johnson - Conor Burns.

Ministerial team - Robert Courts.

Ministry of Defence

Secretary of State for Defence Gavin Williamson - Will Quince.

Ministerial team – Anne Marie Trevelyan and Jack Lopresti.

Ministry of Justice

Lord Chancellor, and Secretary of State for Justice David Gauke - Peter Heaton Jones.

Ministerial team - Julian Knight.

Department for Education

Secretary of State for Education Damian Hinds - Simon Hoare.

Ministerial team - Alex Chalk and David Warbuton.

Department for Exiting the European Union

Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union David Davis - Gareth Johnson and

Jeremy Quin.

Department for International Trade

Secretary of State for International Trade, and President of the Board of Trade Liam Fox -

Tom Pursglove.

Ministerial team - Mike Wood.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy - Greg Clark and

Alan Mak.

Ministerial team - Mary Robinson.

Department of Health and Social Care

Secretary of State for Health and Social Care Jeremy Hunt - James Cartlidge.

Ministerial team - Maggie Throup.

Department for Work and Pensions

Secretary of State for Work and Pensions Esther McVey - Huw Merriman.

Ministerial team - Ranil Jayawardena.



Department for Transport

Secretary of State for Transport Chris Grayling - James Heappey.

Ministerial team - Chris Green.

Department for Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government

Secretary of State for Housing, Communities and Local Government Sajid Javid - Chris Philp.

Office of the Leader of the House of Commons

Lord President of the Council, and Leader of the House of Commons Andrea Leadsom -Victoria Prentis.

Office of the Leader of the House of Lords

Lord Privy Seal, and Leader of the House of Lords Baroness Evans of Bowes Park – Luke Hall.

Scotland Office

Secretary of State for Scotland David Mundell - Alberto Costa.

Wales Office

Secretary of State for Wales Alun Cairns - Glyn Davies.

Ministerial team - Chris Davies.

Northern Ireland Office

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland Karen Bradley - Matt Warman.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Michael Gove - Kevin Hollinrake.

Ministerial team - Rebecca Pow.

Department for International Development

Secretary of State for International Development Penny Mordaunt - Michael Tomlinson.

Ministerial team - Craig Tracey.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport Matt Hancock - Nigel Huddleston.

Cabinet Office

Minister for the Cabinet Office David Lidington - Kevin Foster.

Attorney General’s Office

Attorney General Jeremy Wright - Michelle Donelan.

Minister without Portfolio

Minister without portfolio and Conservative Party Chair Brandon Lewis - Helen Whately.


Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Environmental Audit Committee – Robert Goodwill and Philip Dunne appointed as members.

Procedure Committee – David Evennett appointed as a member.

Science and Technology Committee – Adam Holloway discharged and Damian Moore appointed as a member.


Government Departments:

Home Office

Commission for Countering Extremism - Sara Khan will become the new lead Commissioner in February.




Department for Education

David Meller stood down as Non-Executive Board Member and as Chair of the Apprenticeship Delivery Board.

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Homes England - Julian Ashby stood down as Chair of Regulation Committee.

Department for Transport

Transport for the North - Barry White became Chief Executive of the body, which comes into force on 1st April.



Labour Party

Lord McAvoy elected as Chief Whip in the Lords.

Lord Mendelsohn was asked to resign as Opposition Spokesperson for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy and for International Trade.

Sinn Féin

Mary Lou McDonald elected as President.

UK Independence Party


Margot Parker as Deputy Leader.

Mike Hookem as Assistant Deputy Leader.

Star Anderton as Spokesperson for Disabilities.

David Meacock as Spokesperson for Culture.

Gerard Batten as Spokesperson for Brexit.

John Bickley as Spokesperson for Immigration.

David Sprason as Spokesperson for Work and Pensions.

Peter Whittle as Spokesperson for London.

David Kurten as Spokesperson for Education.

Tim Aker as Spokesperson for Local Government.

William Dartmouth as Spokesperson for Trade.

Jonathon Bullock as Spokesperson for Energy.


Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Government

Denis McMahon to become Permanent Secretary of the Department of Agriculture, Environment and Rural Affairs, replacing Noel Lavery.

Noel Lavery to become Permanent Secretary of the Department for the Economy, replacing Andrew McCormick.

Andrew McCormick to become Director General of International Relations.

Sue Gray to become Permanent Secretary of the Department of Finance.

Hugh Widdis to become Departmental Solicitor and Head of the Government Legal Service in Northern Ireland.

Welsh Government

Peter Halligan appointed to the post of Chief Scientific Adviser for Wales.





Local Authorities:

By-election Result 25th January

Isle of Wight Council – Steve Hastings elected for Central Wight – Conservative hold.



Interest Groups

Improvement Service – Colin Mair to retire as Chief Executive on 31st March.

Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations – Anna Fowlie appointed as Chief Executive.

Action for Children – Tony Hawkhead to retire as Chief Executive in February, and Carol Iddon will replace him.


Cicero - Robert O’Reilly has joined as Director.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.