Increased recognition for rank and file in New Year's Honours

Posted On: 
30th December 2016

Nearly double the number of Federated officers have been awarded a Queen’s Police Medal (QPM) in the New Year’s Honours list.

In total nine Federated officers of Police Constable to Chief Inspector rank have been awarded the prestigious honour compared to five in 2016, including the current Chair of the Greater Manchester Police Federation, Inspector Ian Hanson.

Other senior officers, chief officers, police staff and those associated with policing picked up honours including CBEs, OBEs, MBEs, BEMs and a Damehood.

Steve White, Chair of the Police Federation of England and Wales, said:
“A huge congratulations to all those receiving these special honours. And they are exactly that, a special honour for people performing a very special role.

“Despite all the hurdles they so often face, our members work tirelessly to serve the needs of the communities they police, so often putting the needs of others before their own.

“In her final days as Home Secretary, the now Prime Minister made it clear that she wanted to see nominations for a QPM proportionately reflect the diversity of the workforce and it’s encouraging to see more frontline officers being honoured than ever before.

“There is still work to be done and by engaging with chief officers at national and local level we will ensure that those who go above and beyond the call of duty for the sake of others are rightly recognised.”

Of note was an MBE for Sharon Holness for her role in organising National Police Memorial Day alongside her husband Insp Joe Holness from Kent Police, who received the Queen’s Police Medal in 2008.

Steve White added: “Sharon's support of NPMD has been unstinting. Together with Joe, her dedication and commitment has been rightly recognised with this prestigious award. Like many others who are not officers themselves but are nonetheless dedicated to policing, the police family owes her a debt of gratitude.

“From all at the Police Federation, a warm congratulations to everyone on receiving some of the nation’s most prestigious recognitions for your exemplary service and commitment.”