Tue, 28 May 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
How the UK can unlock the opportunities of the global expansion of offshore wind Partner content
Home affairs
London Luton Airport expansion will help Luton soar Partner content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Anne-Marie Trevelyan left the frontbench. | PA Images

Dods People

4 min read

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Jones of Birmingham (Crossbench, life peer) retired on 31st August.

Lord Williams of Oystermouth (Crossbench, life peer) retired on 31st August.

Lord Kirkwood of Kirkhope (Lib Dem, life peer) retired on 2nd September.

New peers introduced:

Lord Herbert of South Downs (Conservative, life peer)

Lord Vaizey of Didcot (Conservative, life peer).

Lord Austin of Dudley (Non-affiliated, life peer)

Lord Wharton of Yarm (Conservative, life peer)

Baroness Morrissey (Conservative, life peer)

Baroness Clark of Kilwinning (Labour, life peer)

Lord Walney (Non-affiliated, life peer)

Lord Clarke of Nottingham (Conservative, life peer).

House of Commons

Anne-Marie Trevelyan left the frontbench.


Departments of State:

Simon Case appointed as Cabinet Secretary and Head of the Civil Service, replacing Mark Sedwill on 9th September.

Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office

James Cleverly appointed as Minister of State (Minister for Middle East and North Africa).

Lord Goldsmith appointed as Minister of State (Minister for Pacific and the Environment).

Nigel Adams appointed as Minister of State (Minister for Asia).

Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon appointed as Minister of State (Minister for South Asia and the Commonwealth).

James Duddridge appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for Africa).

Wendy Morton appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for European Neighbourhood and the Americas).

Baroness Sugg appointed as Parliamentary Under Secretary of State (Minister for the Overseas Territories and Sustainable Development).

Ministry of Justice

Independent Monitoring Boards – Anne Owens to remain as National Chair.

Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government

UK Holocaust Memorial Foundation - Jon Cunliffe, Mona Siddiqui and Matthew Westerman have been appointed to the board.

Northern Ireland Office

Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission - Helen Henderson, Jonathan Kearney, David Lavery, Maura Muldoon, Eddie Rooney and Stephen White appointed as past-time Commissioners.

Non-Ministerial Departments

HMRC - Daljit Rehal has been appointed as Chief Digital and Information Officer from 14th September.



Liberal Democrats

Alistair Carmichael appointed as Spokesperson for Home Affairs, Political and Constitutional Reform and Northern Ireland (previously Chief Whip and Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs and Exiting the European Union).

Wendy Chamberlain appointed as Chief Whip and Spokesperson for Scotland, Wales and Work and Pensions (previously Spokesperson for Political and Constitutional Reform, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland and International Development).

Daisy Cooper appointed as Spokesperson for Education (previously Spokesperson for Justice and Digital, Culture, Media and Sport).

Tim Farron appointed as Spokesperson for Housing, Communities and Local Government and Food and Rural Affairs (previously Spokesperson for Housing, Local Government, Food and Rural Affairs and North of England).

Wera Hobhouse appointed as Spokesperson for Justice, Women and Equalities and Shadow Leader of the House (previously Spokesperson for Climate Emergency, Energy and Environment).

Christine Jardine appointed as Spokesperson for Treasury, Brexit, Europe and Trade (previously Spokesperson for Home Office; Women and Equalities).

Layla Moran appointed as Spokesperson for Foreign Affairs and International Development (previously Spokesperson for Education).

Sarah Olney appointed as Spokesperson for Climate Emergency, Business and Energy and Transport (previously Spokesperson for Business, Trade and Transport).

Jamie Stone appointed as Spokesperson for Defence, Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (previously Spokesperson for Defence).

Munira Wilson remains as Spokesperson for Health, Wellbeing and Social Care.

Scottish Labour

James Kelly resigned as Shadow Justice Secretary.


Devolved Authorities:

Welsh Parliament

Caroline Jones left the Brexit Party and now sits as Independent.

Scottish Parliament

Education and Skills Committee - Kenneth Gibson appointed to replace Gail Ross as a member.

Equalities and Human Rights Committee - Gillian Martin appointed to replace Angela Constance as a member.

justice committee - Annabelle Ewing appointed to replace Alasdair Allan as a member.

Local Government and Communities Committee - Keith Brown appointed to replace Kenneth Gibson and Gail Ross appointed to replace Annabelle Ewing as members.


Local Authorities:

Cambridge City Council – Andrew Grant to become interim Chief Executive from 1st October, replacing Antoinette Jackson.

South Holland District Council – Anna Graves to stand down as Chief Executive in the autumn.

Pembrokeshire Council – Ian Westley to stand down as Chief Executive by the end of November.

Shropshire Council – Andy Begley to become Chief Executive.

Northumberland County Council – Peter Jackson removed as Leader with Glen Sanderson replacing him temporarily.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

National Emergencies Trust - Mhairi Sharp to become interim Chief Executive, replacing John Herriman.

British Dyslexia Association – Nick Posford to become Chief Executive.

Alzheimer's Research UK – Susan Kohlhaas appointed as Director of Research.

Trade Associations

BMA - Greg Beales appointed as Communications and Policy Director.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.


Home affairs